13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013
Vernissage 12/10/2012 18h00

Since 1988, Luxembourg has regularly participated in one of the most important international contemporary art events: the Venice Biennale, one of the characteristics of which is the hosting of national pavilions, inherited from the model of 19th century International Exhibitions. The history of Luxembourg’s participation in the Venice Biennale reads like a veritable success story.

Simone Decker : Chewing in Venice, Collection Mudam Luxembourg & Prototype pour un espace infini, Courtesy de l'artiste, 1999/2012, Versions exposées : Production Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

The first participations only offered Luxembourg’s artists limited exhibition conditions: confined to the Padiglione Italia, which at the time hosted countries without pavilions. Then, in 1995 what appeared to be an inextricable situation - the eviction of countries without pavilions from the Giardini, the main site for the Biennale - turned to Luxembourg’s advantage. Finally, in 2003 to everyone’s surprise, the Luxembourg pavilion, installed since 1999 in a 15th century building known as the Ca’ del Duca, was awarded the Golden Lion for best national participation.

The exhibition Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 retraces the exceptional development of the presence of a small country in this international contemporary art event. As far as possible, it reconstructs the artistic projects as they were displayed in Venice, with the original artworks and the necessary adaptations for their exhibition in a museum context. Presented are the projects by Patricia Lippert and Moritz Ney (1988), Marie-Paule Feiereisen (1990), Jean-Marie Biwer and Bertrand Ney (1993), the pavilion Potemkin Lock by Bert Theis (1995), a reinterpretation of the installation Magazzino by Luc Wolff (1997), Chewing and Folding in Venice by Simone Decker (1999), the installation Casa Mia by Doris Drescher (2001), the exhibition Air Conditioned by Su-Mei Tse (2003), Mondo Veneziano a movie by Antoine Prum (2005), the video installation Collision Zone by Gast Bouschet and Nadine Hilbert (2009) and the installation Le Cercle fermé by Martine Feipel and Jean Bechameil (2011).

Because it was intimately linked to the space of the Ca’ del Duca itself, the project Endless Lust by Jill Mercedes (2007) is only presented in the exhibition in the form of documentation.

Avant : Bertrand Ney : Facteur X & Ce n'est rien ou l'air du temps, 1993, détail, Courtesy de l'artiste. Arrière : Jean-Marie Biwer : Les Petites Choses, 2012, Collections Funck, Patrick Thill, Martine Weinandy et collections privées, Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

The various presentations are accompanied by archive documents and filmed interviews specially produced for the occasion, in which the artists cast a retrospective gaze on their Venetian experience. The considerable development of Luxembourg’s art scene over the last 25 years is indirectly reflected through the Biennales.

This exhibition is part of the framework of Atelier Luxembourg, an initiative including several exhibitions and projects focussed on artistic creativity in Luxembourg since 1945, developed in partnership with Casino Luxembourg - Forum d’art contemporain, the Centre national de l’audiovisuel (Dudelange), the Musée d’histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, the Musée national d’histoire et d’art and Villa Vauban - Musée d’art de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Luxembourg’s 1956 participation in the Venice Biennale is currently on display at the Musée national d’histoire et d’art in Luxembourg (21/09/2012 - 20/01/2013).

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil : Le Cercle fermé, 2011/2012, détail, Version exposée : Production Mudam Luxembourg, Courtesy des artistes et Collection Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole


Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 
French / English. 156 pages. DVD : 115'
ISBN 978-2-919923-10-6. 20 €

Enrico Lunghi

Under the Patronage of
Her Royal Highness The Grand Duchess

Main partner for the exhibition
Banque BSI Luxembourg SA


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

ATELIER LUXEMBOURG

THE VENICE BIENNALE PROJECTS 1988-2011
13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013
Vernissage 12/10/2012 18h00
Share
 

Depuis 1988, le Luxembourg participe régulièrement à l’une des plus importantes manifestations internationales d’art contemporain, la Biennale de Venise, dont l’une des caractéristiques, héritée du modèle des Expositions internationales du 19e siècle, est d’accueillir des pavillons nationaux. L’histoire de la participation luxembourgeoise à cette biennale s’écrit comme une véritable success story.

Simone Decker : Chewing in Venice, Collection Mudam Luxembourg & Prototype pour un espace infini, Courtesy de l'artiste, 1999/2012, Versions exposées : Production Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

En effet les premières participations, cantonnées au Padiglione Italia qui accueille à cette époque les pays sans pavillon, n’offrent aux artistes luxembourgeois que des conditions d’exposition limitées. Puis, une situation a priori inextricable - l’éviction des pays sans pavillon des Giardini, le site principal de la biennale - tourne en 1995 à l’avantage du Luxembourg. Enfin, à la surprise générale, le pavillon luxembourgeois, installé depuis 1999 dans une bâtisse du 15e siècle, la Ca’ del Duca, se voit attribuer en 2003 le Lion d’or pour la meilleure participation nationale.

L’exposition Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 retrace le parcours exceptionnel de la présence d’un petit pays à cette manifestation internationale d’art contemporain. Elle reconstitue, autant que possible, les projets artistiques tels qu’ils ont été montrés à Venise, avec les œuvres originales et les adaptations nécessaires pour leur exposition dans un cadre muséal. Sont ainsi présentés les premiers accrochages de Patricia Lippert et Moritz Ney (1988), de Marie-Paule Feiereisen (1990), de Jean-Marie Biwer et Bertrand Ney (1993), le pavillon Potemkin Lock de Bert Theis (1995), une adaptation de l’installation Magazzino de Luc Wolff (1997), l'exposition Chewing and Folding in Venice de Simone Decker (1999), l’installation Casa Mia de Doris Drescher (2001), l’exposition Air Conditioned de Su-Mei Tse (2003), le film Mondo Veneziano d’Antoine Prum (2005), l’environnement vidéo Collision Zone de Gast Bouschet et Nadine Hilbert (2009) et l’installation Le Cercle fermé de Martine Feipel et Jean Bechameil (2011).

Parce qu’il était intimement lié à l’espace même de la Ca’ del Duca, le projet Endless Lust de Jill Mercedes (2007), n’est présenté dans l’exposition que sous la forme d’une documentation.

Avant : Bertrand Ney : Facteur X & Ce n'est rien ou l'air du temps, 1993, détail, Courtesy de l'artiste. Arrière : Jean-Marie Biwer : Les Petites Choses, 2012, Collections Funck, Patrick Thill, Martine Weinandy et collections privées, Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

Les différentes présentations sont accompagnées de documents d’archives et d’entretiens filmés réalisés spécialement à cette occasion, dans lesquels les artistes portent un regard rétrospectif sur leur expérience vénitienne. Au fil des biennales, se reflète, en creux, le développement considérable de la scène artistique luxembourgeoise de ces 25 dernières années.

L'exposition au Mudam s’inscrit dans le cadre d’Atelier Luxembourg, une initiative regroupant plusieurs expositions et projets s’intéressant à la création artistique au Luxembourg depuis 1945, développée en partenariat avec le Casino Luxembourg - Forum d’art contemporain, le Centre national de l’audiovisuel (Dudelange), le Musée d’histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, le Musée national d’histoire et d’art et la Villa Vauban - Musée d’art de la Ville de Luxembourg.

La participation luxembourgeoise à la Biennale de Venise de 1956 est, quant à elle, présentée au Musée national d’histoire et d’art (21/09/2012 - 20/01/2013).

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil : Le Cercle fermé, 2011/2012, détail, Version exposée : Production Mudam Luxembourg, Courtesy des artistes et Collection Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

Catalogue

Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 
Français / Anglais. 156 pages. DVD : 115'
ISBN 978-2-919923-10-6. 20 €

Commissaire
Enrico Lunghi

Sous le Haut Patronage de
Son Altesse Royale la Grande-Duchesse

Partenaire principal de l'exposition
Banque BSI Luxembourg SA

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970