MUDAM Logo

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT
17/06/2017 - 21/01/2018
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

Most famous for his radical and emblematic monochrome paintings of the 1950s and 1960s, Ad Reinhardt was also a prolific illustrator, with thousands of his caustically witty drawings and collages published widely in the American press.

Ad Reinhardt, Untitled, 1943. Publié dans le magazine PM, le 23 avril 1943. Courtesy de David Zwirner, New York/Londres © Photo : 2015 Estate of Ad Reinhardt / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Through a broad selection of more than 250 original illustrations and drawings from his commercial art practice, the exhibition at Mudam Luxembourg underscores the artist’s great freedom of expression and commitment to social and political causes. It also explores the echoes of this less examined aspect of Reinhardt’s work in contemporary art.

Works on paper by Ad Reinhardt.
With:

Luis Camnitzer
Sara Cwynar
Judith Hopf
Kerry James Marshall
Álvaro Oyarzún
Lili Reynaud-Dewar
Olav Westphalen

Curators:
Diana Baldon
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

Exhibition realised in collaboration with the Ad Reinhardt Foundation, New York, and with thanks to David Zwirner, New York/London. The works of Ad Reinhardt were originally presented at Malmö Konsthall, Sweden, in the exhibition Art vs. History that took place between 12 June and 6 September 2015, and was curated by Diana Baldon.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT
17/06/2017 - 21/01/2018
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

Célèbre pour ses peintures monochromes radicales et emblématiques des années 1950 et 1960, Ad Reinhardt fut également un illustrateur prolifique, avec des milliers de dessins à l'humour mordant, publiés dans la presse américaine.

Ad Reinhardt, Untitled, 1943. Publié dans le magazine PM, le 23 avril 1943. Courtesy de David Zwirner, New York/Londres © Photo : 2015 Estate of Ad Reinhardt / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

À travers une large sélection de plus de 250 illustrations originales et dessins issus de sa pratique plus commerciale de l’art, l’exposition au Mudam Luxembourg souligne la grande liberté de ton et l’engagement de l'artiste pour des causes sociales et politiques. Elle explore par ailleurs les échos de cet aspect largement méconnu du travail d'Ad Reinhardt dans l’art contemporain.

Œuvres sur papier de Ad Reinhardt.
Avec :

Luis Camnitzer
Sara Cwynar
Judith Hopf
Kerry James Marshall
Álvaro Oyarzún
Lili Reynaud-Dewar
Olav Westphalen

Commissaires :
Diana Baldon
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

Exposition réalisée en collaboration avec la Fondation Ad Reinhardt, New York, avec l’aide de David Zwirner, New York/Londres. Les oeuvres d'Ad Reinhardt ont initialement été présentées au Malmö Konsthall, Suède, dans le cadre de l’exposition Art vs. History, qui s’y est tenue du 12 juin au 6 septembre 2015, sous le commissariat de Diana Baldon.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970