MUDAM Logo

2014

Art & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & Me

ART & ME

COLLECTION MUDAM

08/11/2014 - 15/02/2015

Aiming to encourage a plurality of viewpoints on contemporary production, Mudam constantly rejigs the presentation of the artworks in its collection with new themes and concepts. A gallery of the museum will thus be devoted to an exhibition devised by the Mudam communication department, taking the (old or young) visitor's relationship with the art as a starting point. Conceived as a fun route through a selection of pieces from the collection, the exhibition emphasizes the viewer and his or her role in the museum.

Rui MoreiraRui Moreira

RUI MOREIRA

I AM A LOST GIANT IN A BURNT FOREST

08/11/2014 - 08/02/2015

Fed by various sources including Caretos Portuguese rituals, sky charts and trips made ​​in parts of the world such as India and the Sahara, the drawings of the Portuguese artist Rui Moreira combine geometric and abstract decorative motifs with figures evoking mythical figures and deities. They are “inner landscapes” in which the repetition of simple gestures and “internal and external movements and rhythms” lends the work a physical dimension.

Solides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides Fragiles

SOLIDES FRAGILES

04/10/2014 - 08/02/2015

The exhibition Solides Fragiles brings together different generations of artists for whom the intrinsic quality of an artwork lies in its aptitude to resonate with the exhibition space. Environment, atmosphere and light are not merely external factors but are essential elements of the work. As ambient and active substances, they reveal the artwork. Reciprocally, the artwork in turn unveils the space, making us aware of unexpected aspects.

Damage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage Control

DAMAGE CONTROL

ART AND DESTRUCTION SINCE 1950

12/07/2014 - 12/10/2014

Damage Control: Art and Destruction Since 1950 is organized by the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC in association with Mudam Luxembourg and Universalmuseum Joanneum / Kunsthaus Graz, and is curated by Kerry Brougher and Russel Ferguson. Artists: Roy Arden, John Baldessari, Mircea Cantor, Thomas Demand, Ori Gersht, Jack Goldstein, Yves Klein, Steve McQueen, Yoko Ono, Pipilotti Rist, Jean Tinguely, Andy Warhol...

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil: Many Dreams

MARTINE FEIPEL & JEAN BECHAMEIL: MANY DREAMS

LOCATION: PARK DRÄI EECHELEN

11/07/2014 - 21/09/2014

This summer, the esplanade in the Draï Eechelen park features the artwork Many dreams by the Luxembourg artist duo Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil. It is the first time this major sculpture will be presented in Luxembourg. Taking the form of a shell of a 1950s bus in a synthetic material with the look of stone, the work merges in with the verdant park environment (that offers a panoramic view of Luxembourg city centre) as if time had gradually fossilized it. It invites us to experience the feelings that overcome us “when we are alone in front of the sea or a vast landscape.” 

István CsákányIstván CsákányIstván Csákány

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM

28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015

István Csákány is a young Hungarian artist whose installation Ghost Keeping was much lauded when presented in Kassel during Documenta in 2013. Bernsteinzimmer (2010), a piece of the Mudam Collection, evokes the famous Amber Room offered by King Frederick-Wilhelm of Prussia to Peter the Great and which only exists today as a reconstruction.

Heimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo Zobernig

HEIMO ZOBERNIG

26/04/2014 - 07/09/2014

Since the late 1970s, Austrian artist Heimo Zobernig has developed a radical body of work centered on a critical approach to abstraction, questioning its history and testing its vocabulary, limitations and autonomy. Often drawing on sources from outside the field of art – a way for the artist to “circumvent conventions” – Heimo Zobernig’s artworks are characterised both by their formal and conceptual coherence and by the diversity of practices they encompass.

... of Sounds, Words, Turtles & You

... OF SOUNDS, WORDS, TURTLES & YOU

MUDAM SUMMER PROJECT

31/07/2014 - 31/08/2014

For their summer project at Mudam, Katharina Bihler and Stefan Scheib, the Liquid Penguin Ensemble, will be presenting a sound installation in which visitors can participate. Between 31 July and 21 August, with the help of museum guests, they will collect acoustic material or, to be more precise, words in the various languages of the visitors, who will speak them into a “word container” through a microphone, along with a short explanation for their choice.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/05/2014 - 27/07/2014

The Audiolab project is a coming together of architecture and sound design. The long collective process – involving the talents of four designers and a diversified medley of musicians, sound artists and engineers – gathers design, music and art into an experience that works on many levels. Audiolab 2 was created by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, two designers who also designed the structure of Mudam Café.

Never for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for Love

NEVER FOR MONEY, ALWAYS FOR LOVE

DESIGN CITY 2014 - LXBG BIENNALE

03/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Curated by Anna Loporcaro and Portuguese designer Bruno Carvalho within the framework of Design City 2014, the exhibition Never for Money, Always for Love questions the validity of the methodologies and traditional production methods employed in the field of design to meet new challenges posed by the contemporary political and social context, including the economic crisis and dwindling natural resources. Conceived as a platform for exchange between two art scenes, the exhibition brings together fourteen designers from Portugal and Luxembourg.

Design City 2014 – LXBG BiennaleDesign City 2014 – LXBG Biennale

DESIGN CITY 2014 – LXBG BIENNALE

INTO THE PROCESS

23/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Dedicated to the issue of design in public space and also to its integration in every-day life, the Design City biennial is intended to be a laboratory for ideas, a promotional tool and an experimental platform for the participation of designers in the development of the city. This third edition of Design City will result in two exhibitions (one at Mudam, the other in the public space of Luxembourg), a conference programme plus an “off” route of the city’s designers, traders and partner institutions.

NY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUX

NY-LUX

EDWARD STEICHEN AWARD 2004-2014

14/02/2014 - 09/06/2014

The Edward Steichen Award was established in 2004, in honour of the American photographer and curator Edward Steichen who was born in 1879 in Luxembourg, with the aim of contributing to the dialogue between the art scenes in Europe and the United States, of which Steichen was one of the main instigators in the early twentieth century. Awarded every two years to a young artist from the Greater Region, the award offers the winner a residency of six months in New York.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

2014

Art & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & MeArt & Me

ART & ME

COLLECTION MUDAM

08/11/2014 - 15/02/2015

Dans l’idée de favoriser la pluralité des regards sur la création contemporaine, le Mudam remet constamment en jeu la présentation des œuvres de sa collection au travers de thématiques ou de concepts inédits. Une galerie du musée sera ainsi dédiée à une exposition conçue par le service des Publics du Mudam, prenant comme point de départ le visiteur et son rapport aux œuvres. Pensée comme un parcours ludique à travers une sélection d’œuvres de la collection, l’exposition met le spectateur et son rôle dans le musée à l’honneur. 

Rui MoreiraRui Moreira

RUI MOREIRA

I AM A LOST GIANT IN A BURNT FOREST

08/11/2014 - 08/02/2015

Nourris de sources variées telles que les rituels portugais des Caretos, des cartes du ciel ou des voyages en Inde ou au Sahara, les dessins de Rui Moreira mêlent des motifs décoratifs, géométriques ou abstraits à des figures évoquant des personnages mythiques ou des divinités. Ils constituent des « paysages intérieurs » dans lesquels la répétition de gestes simples, de « mouvements et de rythmes internes et externes » confère à l’œuvre une dimension physique.

Solides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides FragilesSolides Fragiles

SOLIDES FRAGILES

04/10/2014 - 08/02/2015

L’exposition Solides Fragiles réunit des artistes de différentes générations pour lesquels la qualité intrinsèque d’une œuvre relève de son aptitude à entrer en résonance avec l’espace. L'environnement, l'atmosphère ou la lumière ne sont pas de simples facteurs extérieurs mais des éléments constitutifs du travail. Substances ambiantes et agissantes, ils révèlent l’œuvre. Réciproquement, l'œuvre à son tour dévoile l'espace et nous en fait découvrir des aspects insoupçonnés.

Damage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage ControlDamage Control

DAMAGE CONTROL

ART AND DESTRUCTION SINCE 1950

12/07/2014 - 12/10/2014

Damage Control: Art and Destruction Since 1950 est organisée par Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC en association avec Mudam Luxembourg et Universalmuseum Joanneum / Kunsthaus Graz. Commissaires : Kerry Brougher et Russel Ferguson. Artistes : Roy Arden, John Baldessari, Mircea Cantor, Thomas Demand, Ori Gersht, Jack Goldstein, Yves Klein, Steve McQueen, Yoko Ono, Pipilotti Rist, Jean Tinguely, Andy Warhol...

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil : Many Dreams

MARTINE FEIPEL & JEAN BECHAMEIL : MANY DREAMS

LIEU : PARK DRÄI EECHELEN

11/07/2014 - 21/09/2014

Cet été, l’esplanade du parc Draï Eechelen accueille l’œuvre Many dreams du duo d’artistes luxembourgeois Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil. C’est la première fois que cette sculpture d’envergure est exposée au Luxembourg. Reprenant la forme d’une carcasse d’un bus des années 1950 dans un matériau de synthèse à l’apparence de pierre, l’œuvre s’inscrit dans l’environnement verdoyant du parc qui offre un panorama sur le centre ville de Luxembourg, comme si le temps l’avait lentement fossilisée.

István CsákányIstván CsákányIstván Csákány

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM

28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015

István Csákány est un jeune artiste hongrois dont l'installation Ghost Keeping, présentée à Cassel en 2013 à l'occasion de la Documenta, a été particulièrement remarquée. Bernsteinzimmer (2010), l'œuvre de la collection du Mudam, évoque la célèbre chambre d'ambre offerte par le roi de Prusse Frédéric-Guillaume à Pierre le Grand et dont il ne subsiste aujourd'hui qu'une reconstitution.

Heimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo ZobernigHeimo Zobernig

HEIMO ZOBERNIG

26/04/2014 - 07/09/2014

Depuis la fin des années 1970, l’artiste autrichien Heimo Zobernig développe une œuvre radicale axée sur une approche critique de l’abstraction, interrogeant son histoire et mettant à l’épreuve son vocabulaire, ses limites et son autonomie. Puisant souvent leurs sources en dehors du champ de l’art, les œuvres de Heimo Zobernig se caractérisent autant par leur cohérence conceptuelle et formelle que par la diversité des pratiques qu’elles englobent.

... of Sounds, Words, Turtles & You

... OF SOUNDS, WORDS, TURTLES & YOU

MUDAM SUMMER PROJECT

31/07/2014 - 31/08/2014

Katharina Bihler et Stefan Scheib du Liquid Penguin Ensemble présentent, pour leur projet d’été au Mudam, une installation sonore avec participation du public. Entre le 31 juillet et le 21 août, ils collectionnent, avec l’aide des visiteurs du musée, du matériel acoustique, ou plus précisément des mots dans la langue des visiteurs, formulés à travers un microphone dans un « container à mots » en y ajoutant également une brève explication de leur choix. Une fois par semaine a lieu un « jour de levée » durant lequel les deux artistes interrogent le public du Mudam sur l’art et leurs mots favoris.

Audiolab . Patrick Jouin

AUDIOLAB . PATRICK JOUIN

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/05/2014 - 27/07/2014

Le projet Audiolab est le mariage entre l’architecture et le design sonore. Au cours d’un long processus commun, les talents de quatre designers et d’une multitude de musiciens les plus divers ont été réunis, rassemblant le design, la musique et l’art dans une expérience qui fonctionne sur de nombreux niveaux. Patrick Jouin est le concepteur de l'Audiolab 1 qui est exposé dans le Jardin des sculptures.

Never for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for LoveNever for Money, Always for Love

NEVER FOR MONEY, ALWAYS FOR LOVE

DESIGN CITY 2014 - LXBG BIENNALE

03/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Initiée par Anna Loporcaro et le designer portugais Bruno Carvalho dans le cadre de Design City 2014, l’exposition Never for Money, Always for Love interroge la validité des méthodologies traditionnelles en vigueur dans le champ du design pour répondre aux nouveaux défis que posent le contexte social et politique contemporain, tels que la crise économique ou la raréfaction des ressources naturelles. Pensée comme une plateforme d’échanges entre deux scènes artistiques, l’exposition rassemble quatorze designers du Portugal et du Luxembourg.

Design City 2014 – LXBG BiennaleDesign City 2014 – LXBG Biennale

DESIGN CITY 2014 – LXBG BIENNALE

INTO THE PROCESS

23/04/2014 - 15/06/2014

Dédiée à la question du design dans l’espace public mais aussi de son intégration dans la vie quotidienne, la biennale Design City se veut être un laboratoire d’idées et une plateforme d’expérimentation pour la participation des designers dans le développement de la ville. Cette troisième édition de Design City donne lieu à deux expositions, l’une au Mudam, l’autre dans l’espace public de Luxembourg, à un programme de conférences et à un parcours off chez des designers, des commerçants de la ville et des institutions partenaires.

NY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUXNY-LUX

NY-LUX

EDWARD STEICHEN AWARD 2004-2014

14/02/2014 - 09/06/2014

Créé en 2004 en hommage au photographe et conservateur américain Edward Steichen, né en 1879 au Luxembourg, le Edward Steichen Award a pour ambition de contribuer au dialogue entre les scènes artistiques d’Europe et des États-Unis, dont Edward Steichen a été, au début du XXe siècle, l’un des principaux instigateurs. Décerné tous les deux ans à un jeune artiste de la Grande Région, le prix offre au lauréat une résidence de 6 mois à New York, au sein du célèbre programme ISCP (International Studio and Curatorial Program).