2013

Lee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee Bul

LEE BUL

05/10/2013 - 09/06/2014

Lee Bul is one of South Korea’s most active artists on the international contemporary art scene. She began her career in the eighties with a series of street performances in which she wore prosthetic dresses – morphological extensions with which she transformed her appearance. More recently, Bul’s work has gravitated towards architecture. After subjecting the human body to distortions and manipulations, the artist is now transfiguring our built environment and undermining our perception of space.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

12/12/2013 - 18/05/2014

The Audiolab project is a coming together of architecture and sound design. The long collective process – involving the talents of four designers and a diversified medley of musicians, sound artists and engineers – gathers design, music and art into an experience that works on many levels. Audiolab 2 was created by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec, two designers who also designed the structure of Mudam Café.

Lutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & Guggisberg

LUTZ & GUGGISBERG

THE FOREST

06/07/2013 - 30/03/2014

Andres Lutz, also cabaret artist, and Anders Guggisberg, musician, have worked together as an artistic duo since 1996, creating a wide variety of works. Their repertoire includes not only paintings, sculptures, installations, video and photography, but also performances and their constantly growing fake library. Based in Zurich, Lutz & Guggisberg are rooted in the tradition of Dadaism, which was invented in the city, and the work of another famous Zurich artistic duo, Fischli/Weiss.

Thea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea Djordjadze

THEA DJORDJADZE

OUR FULL

22/06/2013 - 30/03/2014

Created using humble materials from traditional sculpture or found in the everyday environment, such as wood, clay, plaster, glass, fabrics and steel, Thea Djordjadze’s sculptures and installations are characterised by their fragile, temporary and transitory nature. Seemingly produced on the spur of the moment – the artist likes to keep her works open, and often finalises them when installing the exhibition –, they are a crystallisation of both the process of their production and their possible alteration through time.

Elmar TrenkwalderElmar TrenkwalderElmar Trenkwalder

ELMAR TRENKWALDER

05/10/2013 - 16/03/2014

The phantasmagorical work of the austrian artist, Elmar Trenkwalder, celebrates the exalted and hallucinated part of the human spirit. Referring to the tradition of sexual transgression developed by the Viennese Actionists, it is also reminiscent of a fantastical medieval era, as well as of the grotesque style. Moved by an erotic and vital energy, this audacious project appears to arise from obsessive visions of magical forms.

Chen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jen

CHEN CHIEH-JEN

FACTORY, THE ROUTE, EMPIRE’S BORDERS I & II

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Chen Chieh-jen, foremost figure of the Taiwanese art scene, makes movies on political and social matters, mainly focusing on the conditions of life of marginalised populations. For his last film, Happiness Building I (2012), the artist paid a more particular attention to the “internal exiled people”, as he described them, of the economic policy of Taiwan. The exhibition of Chen Chieh-jen at Mudam will allow the European audience to discover some of the last movies of the artist.

J'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es là

J'OUVRE LES YEUX ET TU ES LÀ

COLLECTION MUDAM

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

The exhibition J’ouvre les yeux et tu es là (I open my eyes and you are there) gathers about fifteen artworks from the Mudam Collection, including several recent acquisitions. The works show the fragile movement of appearing and disappearing images: ephemeral shadow images, the appearance of an image on a sheet of paper or a canvas, the reflection, the projection, the inception of mental images... The title of the exhibition is borrowed from a painting by Rémy Zaugg, who questions our gaze, appearance and invisibility.

Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong

ROBERT KNOTH & ANTOINETTE DE JONG

POPPY - TRAILS OF AFGHAN HEROIN

23/03/2013 - 02/06/2013

Within the framework of the fourth edition of European Month of Photography, which begins on 24 April 2013, Mudam in collaboration with Café Crème presents the multimedia installation POPPY – Trails of Afghan Heroin by Robert Knoth and Antoinette de Jong. By highlighting the dark and complex side of globalization, this multimedia installation thus exposes the context and consequences of the shipment of heroin from East to West, by revealing along the way conflicts, diseases, and crimes as well as the extreme poverty that afflicts these countries.

L'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillon

L'IMAGE PAPILLON

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Inspired by the work of the German writer W. G. Sebald, the exhibition L’Image papillon (The Butterfly Image) addresses the complex relations that link image and memory. It gathers sixteen artists whose work, like Sebald’s, explores the realms of memory and history. Borrowing its title from an essay on Sebald’s work by Muriel Pic, the exhibition uses the figure of the ‘butterfly image’ to examine the questions this kind of relation to the past asks in the context of the visual arts.

Folkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de Jong

FOLKERT DE JONG

ACTUS TRAGICUS

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

At first glance, the three-dimensional pictures by the Dutch artist Folkert de Jong appear seductive and disturbing in equal measure. De Jong generally turns the exhibition space into a theatre stage, for which he designs sceneries made, with great virtuosity, from polyurethane foam, an unusual material in sculpture. Often inspired by historic facts, real persons or memorable episodes from art history, his works unfold in complex compositions that confront the viewer with extremely tangible directness.

Art Orienté Objet (Marion Laval-Jeantet et Benoît Mangin)

ART ORIENTÉ OBJET (MARION LAVAL-JEANTET ET BENOÎT MANGIN)

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

The Mudam Collection grows steadily with the years and presently counts over 550 works. About twenty works are presented in a permanent way in the museum and the park, whereas temporary exhibitions allow the visitors to regularly discover diverse pieces from the collection. With Unrooted Tree (Arbre sans racines) ou la Machine à faire parler les arbres, Mudam exhibits a work form the french artists duo Art Orienté Objet which recently entered the collection.

Yuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri Suzuki

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC

03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013

Looks Like Music is an installation by Yuri Suzuki centered around his sound piece Colour Chaser: a miniature robot that detects and follows a black line while reading crossing coloured lines and translating this data into sound. Visitors are free to draw on paper and simultaneously compose music, thus creating a large scale picture and a sound piece at the same time.

Audiolab . Laurent MassalouxAudiolab . Laurent Massaloux

AUDIOLAB . LAURENT MASSALOUX

COLLECTION MUDAM

31/08/2013 - 01/12/2013

The Mudam Collection grows steadily with the years and presently counts over 550 works. About twenty works are presented in a permanent way in the museum and the park, whereas temporary exhibitions allow the visitors to regularly discover diverse pieces from the collection. The Audiolab project gathers design, music and art into an experience that works on many levels.

Katinka Bock

KATINKA BOCK

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 28/07/2013

The Mudam Collection grows steadily with the years and presently counts over 550 works. About twenty works are presented in a permanent way in the museum and the park, whereas temporary exhibitions allow the visitors to regularly discover diverse pieces from the collection related to exhibition themes or through isolated presentations. This spring, the new acquisition Atlantic, Personne by Katinka Bock was exhibited in the sculpture garden.

MUDAM Logo

2013

Lee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee BulLee Bul

LEE BUL

05/10/2013 - 09/06/2014

Lee Bul, une des artistes sud-coréennes les plus actives sur la scène de l’art contemporain actuelle, entame sa carrière artistique dans les années 1980. Elle réalise alors des performances dans la rue durant lesquelles elle porte des vêtements prothétiques, véritables excroissances morphologiques. Plus récemment, son travail s'est orienté vers l'architecture. Après avoir fait subir des distorsions aux corps, elle altère maintenant notre environnement et manipule notre perception de l’espace.

Audiolab . Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

AUDIOLAB . RONAN & ERWAN BOUROULLEC

COLLECTION MUDAM

12/12/2013 - 18/05/2014

Le projet Audiolab est le mariage entre l’architecture et le design sonore. Au cours d’un long processus commun, les talents de quatre designers et d’une multitude de musiciens les plus divers ont été réunis, rassemblant le design, la musique et l’art dans une expérience qui fonctionne sur de nombreux niveaux. L'Audiolab 2 a été conçus par Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec qui sont par ailleurs les créateurs de la structure du Mudam Café.

Lutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & GuggisbergLutz & Guggisberg

LUTZ & GUGGISBERG

THE FOREST

06/07/2013 - 30/03/2014

Andres Lutz, également artiste de cabaret, et Anders Guggisberg, musicien, travaillent en duo depuis 1996. Véritablement protéiforme, leur œuvre évolue avec aisance entre peinture, sculpture, installation, vidéo, photographie ou encore performances, et inclut même une bibliothèque fictive qui ne cesse de s’agrandir. Établis à Zurich, berceau du dadaïsme, Lutz & Guggisberg s’inscrivent dans la tradition de ce mouvement, mais aussi dans celle d’un autre célèbre duo d’artistes zurichois, Fischli/Weiss.

Thea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea DjordjadzeThea Djordjadze

THEA DJORDJADZE

OUR FULL

22/06/2013 - 30/03/2014

Réalisées à partir de matériaux humbles empruntés à la sculpture ou à l’environnement quotidien, tels que bois, argile, plâtre, verre, tissu et acier, les sculptures et installations de Thea Djordjadze se caractérisent par leur nature fragile, temporaire, transitoire. Semblant produites sur le moment – l’artiste aime à garder ses œuvres ouvertes, et est souvent amenée à les finaliser durant l’accrochage –, elles cristallisent autant le processus de leur réalisation que leur possible altération dans le temps.

Elmar TrenkwalderElmar TrenkwalderElmar Trenkwalder

ELMAR TRENKWALDER

05/10/2013 - 16/03/2014

L'artiste autrichien Elmar Trenkwalder développe une œuvre fantasmagorique qui célèbre la part exaltée et hallucinée de l’esprit humain. Si elle s'inscrit dans une tradition de la transgression sexuelle des actionnistes viennois, elle se réfère également à un Moyen-Âge fantastique et au style grotesque. Son travail audacieux, qui semble issu de visions obsédantes de formes magiques, est habité par une énergie érotique et vitale.

Chen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jenChen Chieh-jen

CHEN CHIEH-JEN

FACTORY, THE ROUTE, EMPIRE’S BORDERS I & II

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Figure centrale de la scène artistique taiwanaise, Chen Chieh-jen réalise depuis le début des années 2000 des films traitant de questions politiques et sociales, s’intéressant notamment aux conditions de vie des populations marginalisées. Développé à partir de témoignages de jeunes adultes exclus du monde du travail, son dernier film, Happiness Building I, s’intéresse à ceux que l’artiste nomme les « exilés intérieurs » de la politique économique à Taiwan.

J'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es làJ'ouvre les yeux et tu es là

J'OUVRE LES YEUX ET TU ES LÀ

COLLECTION MUDAM

05/10/2013 - 19/01/2014

Rassemblant une quinzaine de pièces de la Collection Mudam, parmi lesquelles plusieurs acquisitions récentes, l’exposition J’ouvre les yeux et tu es là s’intéresse à des oeuvres qui s’attachent à visualiser le mouvement fragile de l’apparition et de la disparition des images : la manifestation éphémère d’une ombre, l’émergence d’une image à la surface de la feuille ou de la toile, le reflet, la projection, le déclenchement d’images mentales...

Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong

ROBERT KNOTH & ANTOINETTE DE JONG

POPPY - TRAILS OF AFGHAN HEROIN

23/03/2013 - 02/06/2013

Dans le cadre du 4e Mois européen de la photographie, le Mudam, en collaboration avec Café Crème, présente l’installation multimédia Poppy - Trails of Afghan Heroin de Robert Knoth et Antoinette de Jong. Des champs de fleurs vives en Afghanistan jusqu’à la jungle urbaine de Londres, les artistes retracent la route de la production et de la distribution de l’héroïne à travers douze pays différents. En pointant le côté obscur de la globalisation, cette installation aborde le contexte du voyage de l’héroïne de l’est vers l’ouest.

L'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillonL'Image papillon

L'IMAGE PAPILLON

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Puisant son inspiration dans l’œuvre de l’écrivain allemand W. G. Sebald, l’exposition L’Image papillon s’intéresse aux relations complexes qui lient l’image et la mémoire. Elle regroupe seize artistes dont les œuvres, à l’instar des livres de Sebald, abordent les champs de la mémoire et de l’histoire. Empruntant son titre à un ouvrage de Muriel Pic sur l’œuvre de Sebald, l’exposition reprend la figure de « l’image-papillon » pour explorer les enjeux que soulève ce type de rapport au passé.

Folkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de JongFolkert de Jong

FOLKERT DE JONG

ACTUS TRAGICUS

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

Les sculptures de Folkert de Jong exercent un effet à la fois fascinant et troublant. L’artiste transforme l’espace d’exposition en une scène de théâtre au travers de saynètes qu'il réalise grandeur nature. Celles-ci sont façonnées en mousse rigide – matériau fréquemment utilisé dans le domaine de la construction – dont l'artiste maîtrise les moindres effets. Souvent inspirées de faits historiques, ses œuvres se déploient dans des compositions complexes auxquelles le spectateur se confronte directement, dans un saisissant face-à-face.

Art Orienté Objet (Marion Laval-Jeantet et Benoît Mangin)

ART ORIENTÉ OBJET (MARION LAVAL-JEANTET ET BENOÎT MANGIN)

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 08/09/2013

La collection du Mudam ne cesse de s'enrichir au fil des années et compte désormais plus de 550 œuvres. Une vingtaine de pièces sont présentées de manière permanente dans le musée et le parc, tandis que des expositions temporaires permettent aux visiteurs de régulièrement découvrir divers aspects de la collection. Avec Unrooted Tree (Arbre sans racines) ou la Machine à faire parler les arbres, le Mudam expose une oeuvre du duo d’artistes français Art Orienté Objet récemment entrée dans la collection.

Yuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri SuzukiYuri Suzuki

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC

03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013

Looks Like Music est une installation de Yuri Suzuki autour de sa pièce sonore intitulée Colour Chaser : un robot miniature qui détecte et suit une ligne noire tout en lisant de lignes de couleurs traversantes qu’il transforme en son. Les visiteurs peuvent dessiner sur papier et composer de la musique en même temps, créant ainsi non seulement une image à grande échelle mais également une pièce sonore.

Audiolab . Laurent MassalouxAudiolab . Laurent Massaloux

AUDIOLAB . LAURENT MASSALOUX

COLLECTION MUDAM

31/08/2013 - 01/12/2013

La collection du Mudam ne cesse de s'enrichir au fil des années et compte désormais plus de 550 œuvres. Une vingtaine de pièces sont présentées de manière permanente dans le musée et le parc, tandis que des expositions temporaires permettent aux visiteurs de régulièrement découvrir divers aspects de la collection au travers de thématiques ou de présentations isolées. Le projet des Audiolabs rassemble le design, la musique et l’art dans une expérience qui fonctionne sur de nombreux niveaux.

Katinka Bock

KATINKA BOCK

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/03/2013 - 28/07/2013

La collection du Mudam ne cesse de s'enrichir au fil des années et compte désormais plus de 550 œuvres. Une vingtaine de pièces sont présentées de manière permanente dans le musée et le parc, tandis que des expositions temporaires permettent aux visiteurs de régulièrement découvrir divers aspects de la collection au travers de thématiques ou de présentations isolées. Ce printemps, la nouvelle œuvre Atlantic, Personne de Katinka Bock se déploiait dans le Jardin des sculptures.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970