2012

Dieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de Havanes

DIEU EST UN FUMEUR DE HAVANES

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/11/2012 - 16/06/2013

Dieu est un fumeur de Havanes is an exhibition interested in the notions of faith and fetishism. It closes the cycle of the Mudam Collection exhibitions, which was inaugurated in 2010 with the exhibition Brave New World followed by Premier étage, Second degré (2010), Walking through... (2011), I've dreamt about (2011) and Les Détours de l'abstraction (2012). What could belong to a myth, what is an idol nowadays? What about our contemporary faiths?

Thomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas Hirschhorn

THOMAS HIRSCHHORN

FLUGPLATZ WELT / WORLD AIRPORT

21/11/2012 - 26/05/2013

World Airport by Thomas Hirschhorn presents a metaphorically connected world that is feeded by multiple networks but stays intrinsically heterogeneous. His monumental installation, consisting of poor and multiple materials, underlines how much these days interconnections are granted. It is more a question of collisions than encounters, confrontations than communication.

Michel PaysantMichel Paysant

MICHEL PAYSANT

ONLAB

13/10/2012 - 10/03/2013

OnLAB (Laboratoire d’Oeuvres Nouvelles), brainchild of the artist Michel Paysant, is a research project in which art, science and technology overlap. One of its major realisations are highly innovative, nanoscopic (millionths of a millimetre) and microscopic artworks. Produced in partnership with Giancarlo Faini and Christian Ulysse, researchers at the Photonics and Nanostructures Laboratory at the French centre for scientific research CNRS, these are truly groundbreaking works in the fields of art and science.

Atelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier Luxembourg

ATELIER LUXEMBOURG

THE VENICE BIENNALE PROJECTS 1988-2011

13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013

For Luxembourg Atelier, five Luxembourg museum institutions are collaborating to present a glimpse of creative activity in Luxembourg from 1945 to the present day. This vast panorama brings back to life the struggles of innovative artists living in a country that was for a long time situated on the margins of dominant artistic trends but which, since the end of the 20th century, has found its place in European artistic development.

Les MLes MLes MLes M

LES M

SENSORIUM

12/07/2012 - 27/08/2012

Mudam welcomes the designers Céline Merhand and Anaïs Morel under the label The M. They intend to surprise us in a space devoted to the five senses. For The M, design is a way of revisiting daily rituals and questioning our sensory habits.

Emily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily Bates

EMILY BATES

THE SKY IS GLOWING WITH THE SETTING SUN

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Combining photography, video and audio elements, the installations of English artist Emily Bates are the fruit of long-term research in specific geographical contexts, often marked by the transition from traditional cultures to modernity. Her Love Scenes project, presented in 2008 at Casino Luxembourg, thus addressed the Naxi minority culture in China, while The Nurturing Island concerns a tropical island in the south of Japan. Emily Bates was invited to create a new project for her exhibition at Mudam.

Filipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa César

FILIPA CÉSAR

1975

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Filipa César examines a particularly important period in the recent history of her homeland, Portugal: the end of the authoritarian Salazar regime and decolonisation of Guinea-Bissau. Three films based on contemporary documents or interviews with activists of the time - Porto, Le Passeur and The Embassy - form the core of the exhibit, which also includes a facsimile of Aimé Césaire’s book Discurso sobre o colonialismo and related posters.

Simon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon Evans

SIMON EVANS

HOW TO BE ALONE WHEN YOU LIVE WITH SOMEONE

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

The graphic compositions by the British artist Simon Evans combine drawings with fragments of words and relate to diaries, automatic writing, collage, lists, inventories, encyclopedias, diagrams, cartography, cosmology...

Steven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. Harvey

STEVEN C. HARVEY

VEHICLES

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

The futuristic vehicles which feature in the work of Steven C. Harvey, who is based in Athens, describe the contours of a “dystopian” world. The artist sees in his pieces “lamentations on the contradictions of the western world and the over-consumption of world ressources, a crisis of which our vehicles are only a symptom”. His extremely precise graphite drawings evoke the universe of a science fiction writer like J. G. Ballard.

Sanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja Iveković

SANJA IVEKOVIĆ

WAITING FOR THE REVOLUTION

02/06/2012 - 16/09/2012

Sanja Ivekovic, a central figure on the Croatian art scene, has developed an engaged artistic practice since the early 1970s, animated by questions of genre, media, identity, and the public and private spheres. Her exhibition at Mudam – a decade after her unprecedentedly controversial public space project Lady Rosa of Luxembourg, which addressed the often-overlooked role of women in wartime – will present a large panorama of her works realised from 1975 to the present.

Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012

DESIGN CITY 2012

13/04/2012 - 03/06/2012

Design City is concerned with design for its contribution to quality of life, a decisive factor in the locating of companies and an important element of differenciation and tourist attraction. Design City 2012 is presenting a series of events which focus on multidisciplinary work of designers. On this occasion, public space will host the exhibition Index: Award 2011, presenting a selection from the 60 finalists nominated for this big international design prize.

Les Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstraction

LES DÉTOURS DE L'ABSTRACTION

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012

History recorded Kandinsky’s shock when, in 1896, he found himself in front of the series of Monet’s Meules/Haystacks, an experience which he turned into the ground-breaking birth of abstraction. More than a century later, while the theoretical not to say political challenges which have gone hand in hand with the adventure of abstraction no longer have any currency, the fact remains that abstract art is still diversifying. It is this feature which the exhibition is intent on emphasizing, focusing on the dissolution of the motif and the appearance of forms.

Sarah SzeSarah SzeSarah SzeSarah Sze

SARAH SZE

FIXED POINTS FINDING A HOME

11/02/2012 - 16/09/2012

Sarah Sze creates ephemeral in situ sculptures, in which a host of everyday objects are painstakingly assembled to form light and fragile structures which invade space. Her works are invariably conceived in response to the architecture of exhibition venues, and invite spectators to move among different scales, ranging from humble to monumental, micro- and macroscopic. Mudam has invited Sara Sze to make a new installation for the Museum Pavilion.

FabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabrica

FABRICA

11/02/2012 - 10/06/2012

Next Cabane and Riot Act are projects of Fabrica. This think tank of the company Benetton is an applied creativity laboratory, a talent incubator, a studio of sorts in which young artists are invited to develop innovative projects and explore new directions, from design, music and film to photography, publishing and the Internet. These artist-experimenters are accompanied along their research path by leading figures, blurring the boundaries of culture and language.

Maurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal Lancman

MAURIZIO GALANTE & TAL LANCMAN

TRANSVERSAL DESIGN. HAUTE COUTURE - DESIGN - ARCHITECTURE

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

Maurizio Galante, a haute couture fashion designer, and Tal Lancman, underscore the close link between art and industry. From concept to making, the works on view illustrate their meetings with Baccarat, Boffi, Cerruti Baleri, Craft, the Fondation Cartier, Ithemba, the Mudam, Mussi… Merging past and future, craftsmanship and technology, Maurizio Galante and Tal Lancman describe for us the itinerary of their creations, from the “conception of the idea” to the finished products.

Tina GillenTina GillenTina GillenTina Gillen

TINA GILLEN

PLAYGROUND

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

The paintings of the Luxembourg artist Tina Gillen present figurative worlds offset by abstract forms. The back-and-forth movement between these two dimensions goes hand in hand with a shrewd balance between a great mastery of the pictorial vocabulary and a certain “slackening” in the execution. The Mudam show, made up of works created specifically for the occasion, will have the theme of the arboretum as its point of departure.

Børre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre Sæthre

BØRRE SÆTHRE

UNTITLED (WARDENCLYFFE TOWER)

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

The installations of the Norwegian artist Børre Sæthre take the shape of dreamlike environments, on the borderline between fairy tales and futuristic worlds, calling to mind the atmosphere of a film like 2001: A Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick. Like these scenes associating stuffed animals and high-tech environments, playing on the concertina-ing of eclectic worlds, they trigger in viewers an impression of uncanniness.

Victor ManVictor Man

VICTOR MAN

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

Combining paintings, sculptures, found objects, photographs and silkscreened works, the installations of Victor Man are hallmarked by their murky atmospheres, at once fascinating and disquieting. Often made with found images connected to a more or less recent past, which, removed from their initial context, take on other levels of meaning, his works exude melancholy, solitude, the violence of existence, desire, and a certain mysticism.

Conrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad Shawcross

CONRAD SHAWCROSS

THE NERVOUS SYSTEMS (INVERTED)

16/01/2012 - 06/05/2012

The interests of Conrad Shawcross are mainly focussed on scientific and philosophical questions. These disciplines combine in his artistic work to create pictures which make complicated connections or fundamental theoretical concepts visible so that people can experience them. The Nervous System, an installation designed for the Grand Hall of the Mudam, is similar to a number of other machines which produce rope and separate it into its individual strands again.

2012

Dieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de HavanesDieu est un fumeur de Havanes

DIEU EST UN FUMEUR DE HAVANES

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/11/2012 - 16/06/2013

Avec un projet qui s'intéresse aux notions de croyance et de fétichisme, Mudam clôture le cycle des expositions autour de la collection inauguré en 2010 avec Brave New World puis Premier étage, Second degré, Walking through, I've dreamt about et Les Détours de l'abstraction. Quelle est la part du mythe, qu'est-ce qu'une idole aujourd'hui ? Qu'en est-il de nos croyances contemporaines ?

Thomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas HirschhornThomas Hirschhorn

THOMAS HIRSCHHORN

FLUGPLATZ WELT / WORLD AIRPORT

21/11/2012 - 26/05/2013

Avec Flugplatz Welt / World Airport, Thomas Hirschhorn présente la métaphore d'un monde connecté qui certes ne cesse d'être irrigué par de multiples réseaux mais demeure intrinsèquement hétérogène. Son installation monumentale composée de matériaux pauvres et disparates souligne combien à notre époque l'interconnexion est chose acquise, pour autant il s'agit plus de collisions que de rencontres, de confrontations que de communication.

Michel PaysantMichel Paysant

MICHEL PAYSANT

ONLAB

13/10/2012 - 10/03/2013

OnLAB (le laboratoire d’œuvres nouvelles) imaginé par l’artiste Michel Paysant est un projet de recherche au confluent de l’art, de la science et des techniques. Il a notamment permis la création très innovante d’œuvres d’art à l’échelle nanoscopique (quelques millionièmes de millimètre) et microscopique. Les œuvres réalisées en collaboration avec les chercheurs Giancarlo Faini et Christian Ulysse du Laboratoire de Photonique et de Nanostructures du CNRS, sont de véritables premières artistiques et scientifiques.

Atelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier LuxembourgAtelier Luxembourg

ATELIER LUXEMBOURG

THE VENICE BIENNALE PROJECTS 1988-2011

13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013

Avec Atelier Luxembourg, cinq institutions muséales luxembourgeoises s’associent pour proposer un aperçu de la création au Luxembourg à partir de 1945 jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Ce vaste panorama fait revivre les combats d'artistes novateurs vivant dans un pays longtemps en marge des courants artistiques dominants mais qui, depuis la fin du XXe siècle, a trouvé sa place dans le développement artistique européen.

Les MLes MLes MLes M

LES M

SENSORIUM

12/07/2012 - 27/08/2012

Mudam accueille les designers Céline Merhand et Anaïs Morel réunis sous le label Les M. Elles proposent de nous surprendre dans un espace dédié à nos cinq sens. Le design, pour Les M, est une façon de revisiter les rituels de tous les jours et de questionner nos habitudes sensorielles.

Emily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily BatesEmily Bates

EMILY BATES

THE SKY IS GLOWING WITH THE SETTING SUN

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Les installations d'Emily Bates sont le fruit de recherches développées sur le long terme dans des contextes géographiques spécifiques, souvent marqués par la transition entre cultures traditionnelles et modernité. Son projet Love Scenes s’intéresse ainsi à la culture minoritaire des Naxi en Chine, tandis que The Nurturing Island a pour cadre une île tropicale située dans le sud du Japon. Pour son exposition au Mudam, Emily Bates a été invitée à développer un nouveau projet.

Filipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa CésarFilipa César

FILIPA CÉSAR

1975

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Filipa César se penche sur une période particulièrement importante de l'histoire récente du Portugal : la fin du régime autoritaire de Salazar et la décolonisation de la Guinée-Bissau. Trois films ayant comme point de départ des documents d'époque ou des interviews des activistes de cette époque, constituent le noyau de l'exposition. Un fac-similé du livre d'Aimé Césaire, Discurso sobre o colonialismo, interdit avant 1974, ainsi que des affiches relatives à ce sujet complètent l'exposition.

Simon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon EvansSimon Evans

SIMON EVANS

HOW TO BE ALONE WHEN YOU LIVE WITH SOMEONE

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Alliant dessins et fragments de mots, les compositions graphiques de l’artiste anglais Simon Evans tiennent à la fois du journal intime, de l’écriture automatique, du collage, de la liste, de l’inventaire, de l’encyclopédie, du diagramme, de la cartographie, de la cosmologie...

Steven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. HarveySteven C. Harvey

STEVEN C. HARVEY

VEHICLES

02/06/2012 - 23/09/2012

Les véhicules futuristes qui peuplent les œuvres de l’artiste britanique Steven C. Harvey dessinent les contours d’un monde « dystopique ». L’artiste voient dans ses œuvres des « lamentations sur la contradiction du monde occidental et de la surconsommation des ressources du monde, une crise dont nos véhicules ne sont que l’un des symptômes ». Ses dessins ne sont pas sans évoquer l’univers d’un auteur de science-fiction tel que J. G. Ballard.

Sanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja IvekovićSanja Iveković

SANJA IVEKOVIĆ

WAITING FOR THE REVOLUTION

02/06/2012 - 16/09/2012

Figure centrale de la scène artistique croate, Sanja Ivekovic développe depuis le début des années 1970 une œuvre engagée, animée par des préoccupations liées aux questions de genre, de mémoire et d’identité. Organisée une décennie après la présentation dans l’espace public de Luxembourg du projet Lady Rosa of Luxembourg, l’exposition de Sanja Ivekovic au Mudam rassemblera un large groupe d’œuvres réalisées entre 1975 et aujourd’hui.

Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012Design City 2012

DESIGN CITY 2012

13/04/2012 - 03/06/2012

Design City s’intéresse au design pour sa contribution à la qualité de vie, facteur décisif de la localisation des entreprises et élément important de différenciation et d’attrait touristique. Design City 2012 propose une série d’événements qui mettent l’accent sur le travail pluridisciplinaire des designers. À cette occasion, l’espace public accueillera l’exposition Index : Award 2011 présentant une sélection des 60 finalistes, nominés à ce grand prix international.

Les Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstractionLes Détours de l'abstraction

LES DÉTOURS DE L'ABSTRACTION

COLLECTION MUDAM

21/03/2012 - 04/11/2012

L'histoire a retenu le choc de Kandinsky lorsque, pour la première fois en 1896, il se trouve face à la série de Meules de Monet et en a fait l'événement fondateur de l'abstraction. Plus d'un siècle plus tard, si les enjeux théoriques voire politiques qui ont accompagné l'aventure de l'abstraction n'ont plus cours, il n'en reste pas moins que l'art abstrait continue de se diversifier avec une grande liberté de ton. C'est ce caractère que cette exposition se propose de mettre en avant, en s'intéressant à la dissolution du motif et l'apparition des formes.

Sarah SzeSarah SzeSarah SzeSarah Sze

SARAH SZE

FIXED POINTS FINDING A HOME

11/02/2012 - 16/09/2012

L’artiste américaine Sarah Sze crée des sculptures in situ éphémères, dans lesquelles une multitude d’objets de la vie quotidienne sont méticuleusement assemblés pour former des structures légères et fragiles qui envahissent l’espace. Ses œuvres sont toujours pensées en réponse à l’architecture des espaces d’exposition, et invitent le spectateur à passer entre différentes échelles, entre l’humble et le monumental, le microscopique et le macroscopique.

FabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabricaFabrica

FABRICA

NEXT CABANE . THE RIOT ACT

11/02/2012 - 10/06/2012

Next Cabane et Riot Act sont des projets de Fabrica. Ce think-tank de la société Benetton invite des jeunes artistes à travailler sur des projets innovateurs dans les domaines du design, de la musique, du cinéma, de la photo, de la publicité et d’Internet. Au sein de ce laboratoire d’idées créatives, des jeunes expérimentateurs artistiques, accompagnés par des spécialistes, cherchent à dépasser les frontières de leurs disciplines, afin d'ouvrir des perspectives nouvelles au monde de demain.

Maurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal LancmanMaurizio Galante & Tal Lancman

MAURIZIO GALANTE & TAL LANCMAN

TRANSVERSAL DESIGN. HAUTE COUTURE - DESIGN - ARCHITECTURE

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

Maurizio Galante, créateur de mode haute couture, et Tal Lancman, prescripteur de tendances et designer, soulignent le lien étroit entre art et industrie. Du concept à la fabrication, les œuvres exposées témoignent de leurs rencontres avec Baccarat, Boffi, Cerruti Baleri, Craft, la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Ithemba, le Mudam, Mussi... Fusionnant passé et futur, artisanat et technologie, ils nous racontent le parcours de leurs créations, de la « conception-idée » aux produits finis.

Tina GillenTina GillenTina GillenTina Gillen

TINA GILLEN

PLAYGROUND

11/02/2012 - 13/05/2012

Les peintures de l’artiste Tina Gillen mettent en scène des univers figuratifs contrebalancés par des formes abstraites. Le va-et-vient entre ces deux dimensions s’accompagne d’un savant équilibre entre sa maîtrise du vocabulaire pictural et un certain « lâcher prise » dans la réalisation. Composée d’œuvres créées spécifiquement pour cette occasion, l’exposition au Mudam prend pour point de départ le thème de l’arboretum.

Børre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre SæthreBørre Sæthre

BØRRE SÆTHRE

UNTITLED (WARDENCLYFFE TOWER)

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

Les installations de l’artiste norvégien Børre Sæthre prennent la forme d’environnements oniriques, à la frontière entre contes de fée et univers futuristes, pouvant rappeler l’atmosphère d’un film tel que 2001 : L’Odyssée de l’espace de Stanley Kubrick. Jouant, à l’image de ces scènes associant animaux naturalisés et environnements high-tech, sur le télescopage d’univers hétérogènes, elles déclenchent chez le spectateur une impression d’inquiétante étrangeté.

Victor ManVictor Man

VICTOR MAN

11/02/2012 - 06/05/2012

Combinant peintures, sculptures, objets trouvés, photographies ou sérigraphies, les installations de Victor Man se caractérisent par les atmosphères ténébreuses qu’elles dégagent. Souvent réalisées à partir d’images trouvées liées à un passé plus ou moins récent et qui, détachées de leur contexte initial, exhalent la mélancolie, la solitude, la violence de l’existence, le désir, et un certain mysticisme.

Conrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad ShawcrossConrad Shawcross

CONRAD SHAWCROSS

THE NERVOUS SYSTEMS (INVERTED)

16/01/2012 - 06/05/2012

Les questions scientifiques et philosophiques sont au cœur de la pratique de Conrad Shawcross. Le travail de l'artiste fait se rencontrer différents champs scientifiques pour créer des images qui permettent de comprendre des liens de causalité complexes ou des principes théoriques. The Nervous Systems, une installation imaginée pour le Grand Hall du Mudam, vient s’ajouter à une série de dispositifs dans laquelle l’artiste s’ingénie à faire et défaire des cordes.