MUDAM Logo

2011

I’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt About

I’VE DREAMT ABOUT

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/11/2011 - 04/03/2012

Artists never stop reinventing our relationship to reality. From Tomás Saraceno’s “realist utopias” to the models of urban expansion by François Roche, artists are positioning themselves in the outposts of new researches. Thus these sweet dreamers and visionaries sketch out new ways of being in the world. As sounding boards of numerous utopias, they nontheless cast a critical gaze on our past experiments and know how to detect the conflicts that tomorrow heralds.

Mondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habités

MONDES INVENTÉS, MONDES HABITÉS

08/10/2011 - 15/01/2012

Mondes inventés, Mondes habités unveils the singularity of universes developed by artists who are in turn thinkers, engineers and architects investigating the forces and flux that control and make up our universe, as well as the dynamics that animate it. Attentive to the mechanics of the world, sensitive to its potential energy, as well as to the streams of thought which irrigate it and define it, their work tackles questions of a scientific and metaphysical nature.

Recovering

RECOVERING

SOUNDSCAPES & VIEWS

30/07/2011 - 08/10/2011

In the summer of 2011, the Park Dräi Eechelen will be revitalised by the project RECOVERING - Soundscapes & Views: four sound installations created specifically for this venue by the Luxembourg composer and artist Steve Kaspar and live interventions with music, dance and performances every second Saturday will encourage visitors to take walks, go on day trips, have picnics and make exciting discoveries.

Thomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas Pausz

THOMAS PAUSZ

HORTUS PRAXIS

15/07/2011 - 07/08/2011

Mudam invites designer Thomas Pausz (*1978) for a series of open air activities throughout the summer. Pausz treats his design practice like a garden from which participants are invited to collect what has been sown during shared experiences. He acts softly, his means are economic an ecological. A slow pace and a sense of community are at the center of his activity program spread across several intra and extra-muros sites.

Out of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage III

OUT OF STORAGE III

REPLAY

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

The cinematic staging and the editing of shots and sequences are borrowed from the cinematic arts by contemporary artists whose work questions the notions of temporality, reconstruction, the realistic character of documentary and the tyranny of credulity of the filmed image. The exhibition is highlighting the gap always existing between reality and fiction in an era dominated by the media and all sorts of images.

Melvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin Moti

MELVIN MOTI

THE INNER SELF IN OUTER SPACE

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

Like a detective using scientific methods, Melvin Moti patiently constructs visual plots by taking anecdotes as a starting point. Somewhere between real events, imagination and fiction, Moti’s reconstructions call on our memory, precisely to make up for the “black holes” which deliberately remain. The slowness, the denuded and indexical nature of images at the limits abstraction confers a snatched and hypnotic beauty on Moti’s films.

Mac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac Adams

MAC ADAMS

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

“How to write a story starting with two or three images, or a situation based on a minimal number of objects?” Mac Adams’ photographs and installations are marked by a carefully composed dramatic tension and are characterized by the economy of narrative means employed. The disturbing impression of only having access to snippets of stories is reinforced by the subjects depicted: news items, crime scenes, detective mysteries...

John StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn Stezaker

JOHN STEZAKER

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

The works that the British artist John Stezaker has been creating since the mid-1970s make use of film stills and portraits of actors found in secondhand bookshops, pictures taken from vintage books, and old postcards. At their root lies the fascination that the found image can wield, thus reversing the usual hierarchy between artist and artwork. “Images find me rather than the other way round.” His collages and image fragments are hallmarked by minimal modes of intervention.

Pascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine Tayou

PASCALE MARTHINE TAYOU

BLACK FOREST

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

The works by artist Pascale Marthine Tayou place dominators and dominated, North and South, creator and viewer back to back. Tayou nonchalantly presents pieces that brutality translate the evils of the world. The artwork of this self-taught artist is an experience which needs to be lived rather than described. He is known for his assemblages, drawings, installations and texts, the raw material of which is provided by the detritus of society.

Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...

WALKING THROUGH...

MUDAM COLLECTION

27/04/2011 - 06/11/2011

The exhibition is an invitation to travel through the landscapes in Mudam Collection. It may be oversized, pixelated then deployed like a panorama as in the works of Xavier Veilhan, it may be more intimate, like outlined in the graphic variations of Cy Twombly, it may also be fantasised as in the luminous paintings by Christian Hidaka: in all the cases, the landscape seems to be a territory of research with fluctuating horizons.

Out-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-Sync

OUT-OF-SYNC

THE PARADOXES OF TIME

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

The exhibition focuses on works in which different temporalities are combined, developing a paradoxical relation of time. One of the purposes is to simultaneously consider the key role that this notion has played in the work of a number of artists who started their career in the 60s, including Bruce Nauman, Dan Graham and Valie Export, and its presence in the practice of the younger generation, such as Manon de Boer, Laurent Montaron and Anri Sala.

Suchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan Kinoshita

SUCHAN KINOSHITA

STICK EMPATHY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suchan Kinoshita first worked for the theatre, as an actress, director and as a decorator. She uses this experience, as well as her musical background, to produce installations which invite the public to an interactive experience. These installations, apart from their distinctive poetry, always take in account the surroundings they are put in, while mixing sound, screening and construction.

Suzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne Lafont

SUZANNE LAFONT

SITUATION COMEDY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suzanne Lafont presents her "Comedy Situation" project. The starting point of this project is a work of art by General Idea "Manipulating the Self Pamphlet" (1971), for which the Canadian artists' collective had passed an advertisement instructing people to carry out a distorsion - to seize your cheek, your neck or your chin with the hand, while passing your arm behind your neck - and the request for a photographic documentation in return.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

2011

I’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt AboutI’ve Dreamt About

I’VE DREAMT ABOUT

COLLECTION MUDAM

23/11/2011 - 04/03/2012

Les artistes ne cessent de réinventer notre rapport au réel. Des « utopies réalistes » de Tomás Saraceno aux modèles d’expansion urbaine de François Roche, les artistes se situent à l’avant-poste de recherches inédites. Rêveurs ou visionnaires, ils esquissent de nouvelles manières d’être au monde. Caisses de résonance de nombreuses utopies, ils n’en portent pas moins un regard critique sur nos expériences passées et les lendemains qui chantent.

Mondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habitésMondes inventés, Mondes habités

MONDES INVENTÉS, MONDES HABITÉS

08/10/2011 - 15/01/2012

Mondes inventés, Mondes habités dévoile la singularité des univers développés par des artistes qui, tour à tour, penseurs, ingénieurs, architectes, s'interrogent sur les forces et les flux qui régissent et constituent notre univers, de même que les dynamiques qui l'animent. Attentifs à la mécanique du monde, sensibles à son énergie potentielle, ainsi qu'aux courants de pensées qui l'irriguent et le définissent, leur travail aborde des questions d'ordres scientifique et métaphysique.

Recovering

RECOVERING

SOUNDSCAPES & VIEWS

30/07/2011 - 08/10/2011

Durant l’été 2011, le projet RECOVERING - Soundscapes & Views se propose de redonner vie au Park Dräi Eechelen : quatre installations sonores créées spécifiquement pour ce lieu par Steve Kaspar, artiste et compositeur luxembourgeois, ainsi que - un samedi sur deux - des interventions « live » mêlant musiques, danses et performances, seront ainsi prétexte à d’étonnantes découvertes lors de vos promenades, sorties en famille ou pique-niques.

Thomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas PauszThomas Pausz

THOMAS PAUSZ

HORTUS PRAXIS

15/07/2011 - 07/08/2011

En été, Mudam accueille le designer Thomas Pausz (*1978), qui propose au public une série d’interventions en plein air. Le design, pour Pausz, est un jardin où le promeneur est invité à récolter ce qu’il a semé lors d'expériences participatives. L’intervention douce, l’économie et l’écologie des moyens, la communauté et le ralentissement sont au centre d’un programme d’activités disséminées sur plusieurs sites intra et extra-muros.

Out of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage IIIOut of Storage III

OUT OF STORAGE III

REPLAY

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

La mise en scène filmique, le montage de plans et séquences, sont autant d'emprunts faits à l'art cinématographique par des artistes contemporains dont le travail questionne les notions de temporalité, de reconstitution, le caractère vériste du documentaire et le régime de crédulité de l'image filmée. L'exposition met en avant l'écart entre le réel et sa fiction dans une époque dominée par les médias et les images.

Melvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin MotiMelvin Moti

MELVIN MOTI

THE INNER SELF IN OUTER SPACE

18/06/2011 - 18/09/2011

Tel un détective utilisant des méthodes scientifiques, Melvin Moti construit des récits visuels en prenant comme point de départ des anecdotes. Entre faits réels, imagination et fiction, les reconstitutions de Moti font appel à notre mémoire, pour pallier « les trous noirs » laissés volontairement. La lenteur, le caractère dépouillé et indiciel des images aux limites de l’abstraction confèrent aux films de Moti une beauté hypnotique.

Mac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac AdamsMac Adams

MAC ADAMS

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

« Comment peut-on écrire une histoire à partir de deux ou trois images, ou d’une situation basée sur un nombre minimal d’objets ? » Empreintes d’une tension dramatique soigneusement composée, les photographies et les installations de Mac Adams se caractérisent par l’économie des moyens narratifs. L'impression troublante de n’avoir accès qu’à des bribes d’histoires est renforcée par les sujets dépeint : faits-divers, scènes de crime, énigmes policières...

John StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn StezakerJohn Stezaker

JOHN STEZAKER

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

Réalisées à partir de photographies de plateau ou de portraits d’acteurs trouvés dans des librairies d’occasion, d’images extraites de livres de seconde main ou de cartes postales anciennes, les œuvres que l’artiste britannique John Stezaker crée depuis le milieu des années 1970 ont pour origine la fascination que peut exercer l’image trouvée, inversant ainsi la hiérarchie habituelle entre l’artiste et l’œuvre. « Ce sont les images qui me trouvent plutôt que l’inverse. »

Pascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine TayouPascale Marthine Tayou

PASCALE MARTHINE TAYOU

BLACK FOREST

18/06/2011 - 11/09/2011

Les œuvres de Pascale Marthine Tayou renvoient dos à dos dominants et dominés, Nord et Sud, créateur et spectateur. Tayou propose avec nonchalance des pièces qui traduisent avec brutalité l’étalage des maux du monde. Autodidacte, son œuvre est une expérience qui se vit plus qu’elle ne s’explique. On le connaît pour ses assemblages, ses dessins, ses installations et ses textes, dont la matière première est fournie par les détritus de la société.

Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...Walking Through...

WALKING THROUGH...

COLLECTION MUDAM

27/04/2011 - 06/11/2011

L'exposition est une invitation à parcourir la Collection Mudam à travers le thème du paysage. Ainsi, qu'il soit surdimensionné, pixellisé puis déployé à la manière d'un panorama par Xavier Veilhan, qu'il se fasse plus intime tel qu'esquissé dans les variations graphiques de Cy Twombly, ou qu'il soit fantasmé comme dans la peinture lumineuse de Christian Hidaka, le paysage semble être un territoire de recherches aux horizons fluctuants.

Out-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-SyncOut-of-Sync

OUT-OF-SYNC

THE PARADOXES OF TIME

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

L’exposition s’intéresse à des œuvres dans lesquelles différentes temporalités coexistent, développant une relation paradoxale au temps. Un des enjeux de cette exposition est de considérer simultanément le rôle clé qu’a joué cette notion dans l’œuvre d'artistes ayant commencé leur carrière dans les années 1960, tels que Bruce Nauman, Dan Graham et Valie Export, et sa présence dans la pratique d’artistes contemporains tels que Manon de Boer, Laurent Montaron et Anri Sala.

Suchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan KinoshitaSuchan Kinoshita

SUCHAN KINOSHITA

STICK EMPATHY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suchan Kinoshita a tout d'abord travaillé dans une compagnie de théâtre, endossant aussi bien le rôle d'actrice, que de metteur en scène ou de décoratrice. Cette expérience, ainsi que sa formation musicale, se retrouve dans ses installations qui proposent le plus souvent une expérience interactive au spectateur. D'une poésie singulière, ses interventions prennent toujours en compte l'espace et mélangent son, projection et construction.

Suzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne LafontSuzanne Lafont

SUZANNE LAFONT

SITUATION COMEDY

17/02/2011 - 22/05/2011

Suzanne Lafont présente son projet « Situation Comedy », développé à partir de l'œuvre de General Idea « Manipulating the Self Pamphlet » (1971), pour laquelle le collectif d'artistes canadien avait passé une annonce donnant les consignes pour réaliser une contorsion - saisir sa joue, son cou ou son menton avec la main opposée, en passant le bras derrière la nuque - avec une demande de documentation photographique en retour.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970