MUDAM Logo

2010

Premier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degré

PREMIER ÉTAGE - SECOND DEGRÉ

MUDAM COLLECTION

17/11/2010 - 10/04/2011

Through a selection of art works from Mudam Collection, the Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean is exploring a spirit that, ever since Marcel Duchamp, infuses contemporary artistic creation. Here, the practices of misappropriation and irony are serving the critical spirit of the artists and allow them to acquire the distance and filters that are necessary to be able to bring a sense of play to the serious business of their quest.

Daniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel Buren

DANIEL BUREN

"ARCHITECTURE, CONTRE-ARCHITECTURE : TRANSPOSITION" . TRAVAIL IN SITU

09/10/2010 - 22/05/2011

The exhibition by Daniel Buren in the Grand Hall of the museum is the fruit of a joint invitation to the artist from Mudam and Centre Pompidou-Metz to create a specific installation in relation to their respective spaces. As it is often the case with his work, the installation the artist has conceived for Mudam is concerned with “frames” - be they aesthetic, architectural or institutional - which condition any exhibited art, by rendering certain aspects visible.

Just Love meJust Love meJust Love meJust Love meJust Love meJust Love me

JUST LOVE ME

REGARD SUR UNE COLLECTION PRIVÉE

09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011

Just Love me is the very first edition of what is planned to become a whole series of exhibitions meant to show the great diversity of approaches that are existing in the process of collecting contemporary art today. Everyone of these exhibitions will give the opportunity to one or several curators of Mudam Luxembourg to put a subjective view on a private collection, in as well as out of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg

Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…

ILLOGICAL THOUGHTS…

WITHIN THE FRAMEWORK OF “DIAGONALES : SON, VIBRATION ET MUSIQUE DANS LA COLLECTION DU CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS PLASTIQUES”

09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011

Presented in the context of Diagonales : son, vibration et musique dans la collection du Centre national des arts plastiques, an event initiated by the CNAP in France, in partnership with 20 art institutions in France, Belgium and Luxembourg, the exhibition Illogical thoughts... is presenting sound installations created for this occasion by three artists and articulated around speech and the illogical process of thinking it can generate.

Nina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie LundNina Beier and Marie Lund

NINA BEIER AND MARIE LUND

THE OBJECT LESSONS

09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011

Nina Beier and Marie Lund’s exhibition takes as a starting point a fictional text written by London-based curator Francesco Pedraglio, following the artists’ invitation to write a subjective text on their 2009 show at De Vleeshal in Middelburg. This text features two artists who, in the story, produce new works. The exhibition is based on a new series of works taking their inspiration from the sculptures described in the text.

Attila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila Csörgő

ATTILA CSÖRGŐ

ARCHIMEDEAN POINT

09/10/2010 - 23/01/2011

The work of Attila Csörgő explores the adjoining territories of art and science. He makes experiments with carefully engineered and meticulously adjusted devices of his own design. His works attest to a mindset that is playful and humorous, as well as philosophical. Through simulacra of objects or forms - the virtual products of his unusual devices - he offers a look into an underlying reality that normally goes unnoticed, hidden to the routine ways of our everyday perception.

Sketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of Space

SKETCHES OF SPACE

19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010

Mudam has invited eight artists to occupy the museum with projects specifically conceived for the occasion. Through their diversity, the installations enhance different approaches to the notion of space. Physical intervention to the architecture of Ieoh Ming Pei, game of construction and deconstruction, relating the interior to the exterior of the building, immersive environment, installation disorientating the viewer, response to the institutional context...

Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8

Y8

PERFORMANCE WITH THE PUBLIC’S PARTICIPATION

19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010

Y8 looks at the possibility of establishing the philosophy and practice of yoga within art by transferring it to the architecturally and socially codified context of exhibition spaces. Each session starts with an introductory talk followed by a practice of breathing, postures and relaxation. Sessions are led by the artists Benita-Immanuel Grosser. How we perceive and experiment an exhibition space and the works of art in it, is a basic point in the practice of the artists’ couple...

Mudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam Collection

MUDAM COLLECTION

OF OUR FACES (AND OUR BODIES) . OF OUR ARTIFICIALITY

26/05/2010 - 30/10/2010

Mudam devotes its first floor, over 800 m2, to its collection, presenting it through themed exhibitions. Until November the public will thus be able to discover the works of 36 artists, grouped into two sequences, “Of our faces (and our bodies)” and “Of our artificiality”. Exploring the rest of the museum, the visitor will also encounter other works of the collection, some of which - such as the Chapel by Wim Delvoye - have been especially created for the museum...

Design City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City Luxembourg

DESIGN CITY LUXEMBOURG

“EDITION 0” BY MUDAM

23/04/2010 - 06/06/2010

Design City Luxembourg offers a series of events in honor of industrial and urban design, in different parts of the City of Luxembourg. The long-term aim is the integration of design as a philosophy of life (and of the city). Thus, aspiring to become a “city of design”, means above all being concerned with the well-being of its inhabitants and acting in favour of their quality of life.

Brave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New WorldBrave New World

BRAVE NEW WORLD

FROM THE PERSPECTIVE OF MUDAM COLLECTION

30/01/2010 - 24/05/2010

What do works of art tell us about the world we live in and that we contribute, each day, to (re)construct, to (re)form, to (re)think? Which are the images of our bodies, of our earth, of our cities, of our dreams and of our fears that artists reflect to us? The exhibition Brave New World proposes - from the perspective of Mudam Collection - an open and surprising view of the universe that surrounds us, through art works of more than eighty contemporary artists.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

2010

Premier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degréPremier étage - Second degré

PREMIER ÉTAGE - SECOND DEGRÉ

COLLECTION MUDAM

17/11/2010 - 10/04/2011

Depuis le début du siècle dernier, le détournement, l’appropriation, la récupération sont autant de pratiques auxquelles bon nombre d’artistes contemporains s’adonnent avec un plaisir non dissimulé. À travers les œuvres de sa collection, le Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Mudam Luxembourg s’intéresse à un état d’esprit qui, depuis Marcel Duchamp, n’a cessé d’alimenter la création contemporaine.

Daniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel BurenDaniel Buren

DANIEL BUREN

« ARCHITECTURE, CONTRE-ARCHITECTURE : TRANSPOSITION » TRAVAIL IN SITU

09/10/2010 - 22/05/2011

L’exposition de Daniel Buren dans le Grand Hall du musée est le fruit d’une invitation qui lui a été faite conjointement par le Mudam et le Centre Pompidou-Metz à imaginer une installation spécifique en réponse à leurs espaces respectifs. Les installations que Daniel Buren a conçues pour les institutions s’intéressent aux « cadres » qui conditionnent tout art exposé, qu’ils soient architecturaux ou institutionnels, en en rendant visibles certains aspects.

Just Love meJust Love meJust Love meJust Love meJust Love meJust Love me

JUST LOVE ME

REGARD SUR UNE COLLECTION PRIVÉE

09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011

Première édition d'une série d'expositions qui visent à mettre en valeur la grande diversité des approches qu'il est possible de trouver chez différents collectionneurs d'art contemporain, qu'ils habitent au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou ailleurs. Chacune de ces expositions va être l'occasion de porter un regard subjectif, de la part d'un ou de plusieurs commissaires du Mudam Luxembourg, sur une collection privée.

Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…Illogical thoughts…

ILLOGICAL THOUGHTS…

DANS LE CADRE DE « DIAGONALES : SON, VIBRATION ET MUSIQUE DANS LA COLLECTION DU CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS PLASTIQUES »

09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011

Présentée dans le cadre de la manifestation Diagonales : son, vibration et musique dans la collection du Centre national des arts plastiques, une manifestation initiée par le CNAP en France en partenariat avec vingt lieux d'art en France, en Belgique et au Luxembourg, l’exposition Illogical thoughts... s’articule autour d’installations sonores commandées pour l’occasion à trois artistes qui s’intéressent à la parole et aux cheminements de pensée illogiques que celle-ci peut générer.

Nina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie LundNina Beier et Marie Lund

NINA BEIER ET MARIE LUND

THE OBJECT LESSONS

09/10/2010 - 30/01/2011

L'exposition des artistes danoises Nina Beier et Marie Lund prend comme point de départ un texte fictionnel par le critique d’art Francesco Pedraglio à partir de la récente exposition des artistes au centre d'art De Vleeshal à Middelburg. Le texte met en scène deux artistes qui produisent de nouvelles œuvres. Pour l’exposition au Mudam, Nina Beier et Marie Lund ont réalisé une nouvelle série d’œuvres, inspirées des descriptions des sculptures présentes dans le texte.

Attila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila CsörgőAttila Csörgő

ATTILA CSÖRGŐ

ARCHIMEDEAN POINT

09/10/2010 - 23/01/2011

Le travail d'Attila Csörgő explore les territoires contigus de l'art et de la science. Il effectue des expériences grâce à des dispositifs, de sa propre création, minutieusement réglés. À travers ces différents objets ou formes illusionnistes et virtuels nés de ses machines extraordinaires, il donne un éclairage nouveau à une réalité sous-jacente que la routine quotidienne et notre regard superficiel nous empêche de remarquer.

Sketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of SpaceSketches Of Space

SKETCHES OF SPACE

19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010

Mudam invite huit artistes à investir ses espaces avec des projets conçus spécifiquement pour cette occasion. Les installations mettent en valeur, par leur diversité, différentes approches de la notion d’espace. Intervention physiques sur l’architecture d'Ieoh Ming Pei, jeu de construction et déconstruction, mise en relation de l’intérieur du bâtiment avec l’extérieur, environnement immersif, installation faisant vaciller les repères des spectateurs, réponse au contexte institutionnel...

Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8Y8

Y8

PERFORMANCE AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DU PUBLIC

19/06/2010 - 19/09/2010

Y8 examine les possibilités de lancer la philosophie et la pratique du yoga dans le contexte de l’art et de l’adapter à l’architecture et aux codes sociaux de l’espace d’exposition. Chaque leçon comprend une petite introduction et une suite d’exercices de respiration, de positions et de relaxation. Les séances sont menées par les artistes Benita-Immanuel Grosser. La perception et l’expérience d’un lieu d’exposition et des œuvres présentées sont au cœur de la pratique du couple d’artistes...

Mudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam CollectionMudam Collection

MUDAM COLLECTION

DE NOS VISAGES (ET DE NOS CORPS) . DE NOS ARTIFICES

26/05/2010 - 30/10/2010

Mudam consacre son premier étage, plus de 800m2, à sa collection en la présentant sous la forme d'expositions thématiques. Ainsi, jusqu'en novembre, le public pourra découvrir les œuvres de 36 artistes regroupées en deux épisodes, « De nos visages (et de nos corps) » et « De nos artifices ». Au fil de son parcours à travers le reste du musée, le visiteur rencontrera également d'autres œuvres de la collection, certaines d'entres elles ayant été spécifiquement réalisées pour le musée...

Design City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City LuxembourgDesign City Luxembourg

DESIGN CITY LUXEMBOURG

“EDITION 0” BY MUDAM

23/04/2010 - 06/06/2010

Design City Luxembourg propose une série d’événements qui mettent le design industriel et urbain à l’honneur dans différents lieux de la Ville de Luxembourg. Il s'agit, à long terme, d’intégrer le design comme une philosophie de vie (et de ville). Ainsi, aspirer à devenir une « ville de design », c’est avant tout se préoccuper du bien-être de ses habitants et militer en faveur de leur qualité de vie.

Le meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondesLe meilleur des mondes

LE MEILLEUR DES MONDES

DU POINT DE VUE DE LA COLLECTION MUDAM

30/01/2010 - 24/05/2010

Que nous disent les œuvres d’art du monde dans lequel nous vivons et que nous contribuons chaque jour à (dé)construire, à (dé)former, à (dé)penser ? Quelles sont les images que les artistes nous renvoient de nos corps, de nos terres, de nos villes, de nos rêves et de nos angoisses ? L’exposition Le meilleur des mondes propose – du point de vue de la Collection Mudam – une lecture ouverte et surprenante de l’univers qui nous entoure, à travers les œuvres de plus de quatre vingts artistes actuels.