MUDAM Logo

ARCHIVES

Darren AlmondDarren Almond

DARREN ALMOND

TIMESCAPE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

With surprising formal diversity and great conceptual coherence, the work of Darren Almond is informed by concerns such as time, space, history and landscape. Exploring how these different dimensions intersect and how we “inhabit” them, many of his artworks testify to his interest in subjective, liminal experiences, playing on the foundations of our perception and knowledge. Devised as a “temporal landscape” deploying all facets of his practice his exhibition at Mudam Luxembourg highlights how, in his work, different time scales resonate.

Samuel GratacapSamuel GratacapSamuel Gratacap

SAMUEL GRATACAP

EMPIRE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

As a photographer whose work lies both in the field of visual arts and the media, Samuel Gratacap is interested in phenomena of migration and transit zones generated by contemporary conflicts. His projects are the result of long periods of immersion, time to understand the complexity of situations and restore what, beyond the numbers, maps and geopolitics, is its heart: trajectories and personal experiences.

Tony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony Cragg

TONY CRAGG

11/02/2017 - 03/09/2017

Tony Cragg’s work, which has been charting new ground since the 1970s, is part of a busy dialogue with matter. Whether made of wood, glass, plastic or bronze, his sculptures associate the particular qualities of a material with the vitality of a form. This major exhibition offers the public a chance to discover the oeuvre of one of the most important contemporary sculptors.    

Martin EderMartin EderMartin Eder

MARTIN EDER

PSYCHIC

17/06/2017 - 03/09/2017

As a painter and musician Martin Eder, who is a charismatic figure from the Berlin art scene, develops pictorial work that combines kitsch, eroticism and mythological figures. Known for his brightly coloured paintings of pets or girls in suggestive poses, he portrays a singular universe in which his realistic style and classical compositions are combined in a dream world which is often disturbing. His most recent work explores the relationship between dream and reality and states of consciousness that oscillate between these two dimensions.

Mary Reid KelleyMary Reid Kelley

MARY REID KELLEY

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

Trained as a painter, the American artist Mary Reid Kelley nevertheless rapidly engaged with the video medium to develop a singular visual universe. Her black and white films, with their expressionist look, sometimes recall the early days of cinema. In costume and make up, she embodies the main character she portrays in a historic setting, whether it be the Second Empire or the First World War.

Double Coding

DOUBLE CODING

COLLECTION MUDAM

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

The starting point of the exhibition, the artwork by Andrea Mastrovito entitled Non ci resta che piangere (There's Nothing Left To Do But Cry) encourages us to refuse any unambiguous reading of history. When invited to exhibit at the Museum of Arts and Design in New York, the artist, in response to the presence of a statue of Christopher Columbus in front of the museum, decided to literally reverse the explorer’s caravel and thereby question the benefits of the discovery of America.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

ARCHIVES

Darren AlmondDarren Almond

DARREN ALMOND

TIMESCAPE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

L’œuvre de Darren Almond est traversée par des questions telles que le temps, l’espace, l’histoire, le paysage et la manière dont ces différentes dimensions s’entrecroisent, avec, en filigrane, l’expérience subjective que nous en faisons. Pensée tel un « paysage temporel » déployant toutes les facettes de sa pratique, son exposition au Mudam Luxembourg souligne la façon dont, dans son travail, différentes échelles de temps entrent en résonnance – qu’elles soient cosmique, géologique, historique ou personnelle.    

Samuel GratacapSamuel GratacapSamuel Gratacap

SAMUEL GRATACAP

EMPIRE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

Photographe dont le travail s’inscrit à la fois dans le champ des arts visuels et celui des médias, Samuel Gratacap s’intéresse aux phénomènes de migration et aux zones de transit générées par les conflits contemporains. Ses projets sont le fruit de longues périodes d’immersion, un temps nécessaire pour comprendre la complexité des situations et restituer ce qui, au-delà des nombres, des cartes et des données géopolitiques, en constitue le cœur : des trajectoires et des expériences personnelles.

Tony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony Cragg

TONY CRAGG

11/02/2017 - 03/09/2017

En constant renouvellement depuis les années 1970, l’œuvre de Tony Cragg s’inscrit dans un dialogue intense avec la matière. En bois, verre, plastique ou bronze, ses sculptures associent les qualités propres d’un matériau à la vitalité d’une forme. Son inventivité, sa propension à créer des formes aussi complexes qu’élégantes, découle de cette rencontre. Cette exposition d’envergure est l’occasion pour le public de découvrir l’œuvre de l’un des plus importants sculpteurs contemporains.

Martin EderMartin EderMartin Eder

MARTIN EDER

PSYCHIC

17/06/2017 - 03/09/2017

Figure charismatique de la scène artistique berlinoise, à la fois peintre et musicien, Martin Eder développe une œuvre picturale où se mêlent kitch, érotisme et figures mythologiques. Connu pour ses toiles aux couleurs acidulées représentant des animaux domestiques ou des jeunes filles aux attitudes suggestives, il déploie un monde singulier dans lequel son style réaliste et ses compositions classiques se conjuguent à un univers onirique, souvent inquiétant.

Mary Reid KelleyMary Reid Kelley

MARY REID KELLEY

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

Peintre de formation, l’artiste américaine Mary Reid Kelley s’est toutefois rapidement emparée du médium vidéo pour développer un univers visuel singulier. Ses films en noir et blanc, de facture expressionniste, ne sont pas sans parfois rappeler les débuts du cinéma. Costumée et grimée, elle y incarne le personnage principal qu'elle campe dans un cadre historique, qu’il s’agisse par exemple du Second Empire ou de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Double Coding

DOUBLE CODING

COLLECTION MUDAM

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

Point de départ de l’exposition, l’œuvre de Andrea Mastrovito intitulée Non ci resta che piangere (There’s Nothing Left To Do But Cry) est une incitation à nous départir de toute lecture univoque de l'Histoire. Invité à exposer au Museum of Arts and Design de New York, l’artiste, en réaction à la présence d’une statue de Christophe Colomb devant le musée, décide de littéralement renverser la caravelle de l’explorateur et s’interroge ainsi sur les bienfaits de la découverte de l’Amérique.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970