MUDAM Logo

SU-MEI TSE BOOK LAUNCH

ARTIST SU-MEI TSE IN CONVERSATION WITH GRAPHIC DESIGNER ANJA LUTZ AND CURATOR CHRISTOPHE GALLOIS. FOLLOWED BY A BOOK SIGNING SESSION. IN FRENCH AND ENGLISH
27/06/2018 18h00
Share
 
Su-Mei Tse in her exhibition Nested at Aargauer Kunsthaus
Photo: René Roetheli, Baden

Marked by her cosmopolitan origins, between Europe and Asia, and by an attention to the sonorous dimension of the world, the practice of Su-Mei Tse involves issues such as time, memory, musicality, and language. Presented in 2017-2019 at Mudam Luxembourg, Aargauer Kunsthaus, Yuz Museum in Shanghai and Taipei Fine Arts Museum, her exhibition Nested is the result of several years of research in different geographical contexts, starting with Italy and Asia. New directions are apparent in her work, including contemplation, our relation to the vegetable and the mineral, the multiplicity of modes of existence, and the possibility of a personal relationship with history.

Like the exhibitions, this ambitious publication was conceived to be like a notebook: a form that brings together impressions that have occurred in everyday life – be they visual, sound, or memory related – and blends them in a subjective and intuitive way, allowing a whole network of echoes and correspondences to be deployed. Combining texts of Doryun Chong, Emanuele Coccia, Christophe Gallois and Katrin Weilenmann with a series of “visual chapters” conceived by the artist in close collaboration with graphic designer Anja Lutz, it constitutes the most comprehensive book on Su-Mei Tse’s work to date.

On the occasion of its launch, the book Su-Mei Tse . Nested will be available at the special price of 30€.

Published by the Aargauer Kunsthaus, Aarau and Mudam Luxembourg, Sternberg Press, BerlinEdited by Christophe Gallois and Katrin WeilenmannWith texts by Doryun Chong, Emanuele Coccia, Christophe Gallois, and Katrin WeilenmannDesign by Anja Lutz // Book Design, Berlin268 pages, 21,5 x 28 cm, English/German, 35€ISBN 978-3-95679-406-3  

UP TO ELEVEN

Guided tours in English, dance, performances, music, shows, or lectures: Up to Eleven is an opportunity to spend a unique evening at the museum.

Wednesdays, 6-11pm
Exhibition galleries open until 9pm
Free guided tour at 7pm (EN)

Free entry

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

LANCEMENT DU LIVRE SU-MEI TSE . NESTED

L’ARTISTE SU-MEI TSE EN CONVERSATION AVEC LA GRAPHISTE ANJA LUTZ ET LE COMMISSAIRE CHRISTOPHE GALLOIS. SUIVI PAR UNE SÉANCE DE SIGNATURE DU LIVRE. EN FRANÇAIS ET ANGLAIS
Share
 
Su-Mei Tse dans son exposition Nested à l’Aargauer Kunsthaus
Photo : René Roetheli, Baden

Marquée par ses origines cosmopolites, entre l’Europe et l’Asie, et par l’attention qu’elle porte à la dimension sonore du monde, la pratique de Su-Mei Tse est traversée par des questions telles que le temps, le souvenir, la musicalité, ou encore le langage. Présentée entre 2017 et 2019 au Mudam Luxembourg, à l’Aargauer Kunsthaus, au Yuz Museum de Shanghaï et au Taipei Fine Arts Museum, l’exposition Nested est le fruit de plusieurs années de recherche à travers différents contextes géographiques, à commencer par l’Italie et l’Asie. De nouvelles directions s’affirment dans le travail de l’artiste, comme la contemplation, notre relation au végétal et au minéral, la multiplicité des modes d’existence, ou la possibilité d’une relation personnelle à l’histoire.

Tout comme les expositions qu’elle accompagne, cette publication ambitieuse a été pensée sur le modèle d’un carnet de note : une forme qui rassemble diverses impressions survenues dans le quotidien – qu’elles soient visuelles, sonores ou mémorielles – et les entremêle de manière subjective et intuitive, laissant se déployer tout un réseau d’échos et de correspondances. Des essais inédits de Doryun Chong, Emanuele Coccia, Christophe Gallois et Katrin Weilenmann ainsi qu’un entretien avec Su-Mei Tse sont associés à une série de « chapitres visuels » que l’artiste a conçus en étroite collaboration avec la graphiste Anja Lutz. Il s’agit de l’ouvrage le plus complet, à ce jour, sur l’œuvre de Su-Mei Tse. 

A l’occasion de son lancement, le livre Su-Mei Tse . Nested sera disponible à un prix spécial de 30€.

Editeurs : Aargauer Kunsthaus, Aarau Mudam Luxembourg, Sternberg Press, Berlin. Sous la direction de : Christophe Gallois, Katrin Weilenmann. Textes : Doryun Chong, Emanuele Coccia, Christophe Gallois et Katrin Weilenmann. Design : Anja Lutz // Book Design, Berlin. 268 pages, 21,5 x 28 cm, Anglais/Allemand, 35 €. ISBN 978-3-95679-406-3

UP TO ELEVEN

Visites guidées en anglais, danse, performances, musique, projections ou encore conférences, Up to Eleven est l’occasion de passer une soirée unique au musée.

Mercredis, 18h00-23h00
Salles d’exposition ouvertes jusqu’à 21h00
Free guided tour at 7pm (EN)

Entrée gratuite