MUDAM Logo

PIERRE BASTIEN: SILENT MOTORS

Share
 

Discretion: it's the first word that comes to mind when thinking about Pierre Bastien, although he is an internationally active French musician since 40 years now. From free improvisation and the inventive jazz scene to electronic circles, Pierre Bastien is a musician and an artist whose unique creative grid gives him the liberty of working at the edge of different scenes.

The music device of Pierre Bastien, articulated around traditional instruments, engines, objects and paper, is at the crossroads of scholarly and popular music. Scholarly because the territory of Pierre Bastien is first of all a literary one, fed by surrealism and every literature which, from André Breton to Raymond Roussel, from poems drawn by Francis Picabia to the imaginary countries of Henri Michaux, operates in its own way a reversal of reality. But also popular, because the instrumental tunes taking place there and the poetic spaces thus opened, relate to the part of childhood wonder, from traditional African music to primitive jazz of Joe King Oliver, passing by musical gestures by artists such as Moondog, peculiar and outstanding.

Pierre Bastien’s concerts and installations, organised around traditional instruments, miniature and fragile machinery, as well as shadows, images and superpositions, are at the crossroads of scholarly and popular music, offering a space of visualisation.

For Eppur si muove, Pierre Bastien will show his new set, ‘Silent motors’ organising paper instruments (organs, flutes...), machines and musicians of the past in the form of video images, in a poetic and delicate world.

Entrance fee to Mudam: 7€

© Pierre Bastien

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

PIERRE BASTIEN: SILENT MOTORS

Share
 

Discrétion : c’est le premier mot qui vient pour Pierre Bastien, pourtant actif sur la scène musicale française et internationale depuis 40 ans. Depuis l’improvisation libre et la scène jazz inventive jusqu’aux cercles électroniques, Pierre Bastien est un musicien et un artiste dont la grille créative unique le laisse libre, à la lisière des scènes.

Le dispositif musical de Pierre Bastien, articulé autour d’instruments traditionnels, de moteurs, d’objets et de papier, est à la croisée de la musique savante et populaire. Savante car le territoire de Pierre Bastien est d’abord un territoire littéraire, nourri de surréalisme et de toute une littérature qui, d’André Breton à Raymond Roussel, des poèmes dessinés de Francis Picabia aux pays imaginaires d’Henri Michaux, opère à sa façon un renversement du réel. Mais populaire, également, car les airs instrumentaux qui s’y déroulent, les espaces poétiques ainsi ouverts, touchent à la part d’enfance, à l’émerveillement, des musiques traditionnelles africaines au jazz primitif de Joe King Oliver, en passant par les gestes musicaux d’artistes comme Moondog, singuliers et outsiders.

Organisés autour de machineries, miniatures et fragiles, mais aussi d’ombres, d’images et de superpositions, les concerts et installations de Pierre Bastien ouvrent un espace de visualisation.

Pour Eppur si muove, Pierre Bastien présente son nouveau set, « Silent motors » articulant instruments de papier (orgues, flûtes...), machines et musiciens du passé sous la forme d'images vidéo, dans un univers poétique et délicat.

Prix d’entrée du Mudam : 7€

© Pierre Bastien

MUDAM AUDITORIUM

Le Mudam Auditorium est à la fois lieu d’exposition (par la projection d'œuvres audiovisuelles faisant partie de l’exposition en cours) et lieu de rencontre le temps d’événements ponctuels comme des conférences sur l'art, le design, etc., ou des projections exceptionnelles.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970