MUDAM Logo

RICHARD DEACON, PASCALE MARTHINE TAYOU, SU-MEI TSE

The three works gathered in the Sculpture Garden were created by the artists Richard Deacon (*1949), Pascale Marthine Tayou (*1967) and Su-Mei Tse (*1973). They all belong to the Mudam collection and enable people to discover various ways to approach working in volume.    

Faithful to the visual language of the New English Sculpture from the 1980s, Richard Deacon enjoys manipulating forms. To create Eight, he subjected the wood, in its raw state, to a twisting movement that doesn’t conceal the creative process: nuts and bolts underline the process of formal construction that the English artist undertook.

Richard Deacon, Eight, 1997
Hêtre courbé à la vapeur, 185 x 390 x 140 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA. Acquisition 1998
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Pascale Marthine Tayou, an artist from Cameroon who settled in Belgium, is one of a generation of African artists who tackle the questions of Post-Colonialism by mixing the experiences they had of their countries of origin with those they have of the western world. The hieratic aspect of the figure echoes the silhouette of a totemic fetish. Entitled Fashion Street, the work takes shape through the assemblage of varied elements, presented as many emblematic objects of today’s society. 

Pascale Marthine Tayou, Fashion Street, 2010
Crystal, various materials, 258 x 47 x 37 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2011
© Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

Finally, Many Spoken Words, by Su-Mei Tse, takes up the classic vocabulary of monumental sculpture. Dripping from a bowl, black ink gushes from a garden fountain of baroque inspiration, as we often see on squares or in public gardens. Through this visual as well as sound sculpture, the artist from Luxembourg pays tribute to literature, evoking the potential of words and the eternal renewal of creation.

Su-Mei Tse, in collaboration with Jean-Lou Majerus, Many Spoken Words, 2009
Ink, stone and cast, 220 x ø 450 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2009
© Photo: Andrés Lejona
 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

RICHARD DEACON, PASCALE MARTHINE TAYOU, SU-MEI TSE

Les trois œuvres rassemblées dans le jardin des sculptures ont été créées par les artistes Richard Deacon (*1949), Pascale Marthine Tayou (*1967) et Su-Mei Tse (*1973). Elles appartiennent toutes à la collection du Mudam et permettent de découvrir diverses manières d’aborder le travail en volume. 

Fidèle au langage visuel de la Nouvelle Sculpture Anglaise des années 1980, Richard Deacon aime manipuler les formes. Pour réaliser Eight, il a soumis le bois, dans sa forme brute, à un mouvement de torsion, ne dissimulant pas le processus de fabrication : vis et boulons soulignent le jeu de construction formelle auquel se livre l’artiste anglais. 

Richard Deacon, Eight, 1997
Hêtre courbé à la vapeur, 185 x 390 x 140 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA. Acquisition 1998
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Pascale Martine Tayou, Camerounais installé en Belgique, fait partie quant à lui d’une génération d’artistes africains qui abordent les questions postcoloniales en mêlant les expériences qu’ils ont de leur pays d’origine avec celles qu’ils font du monde occidental. Le hiératisme du personnage n’est pas sans rappeler la silhouette d’un fétiche totémique. Intitulée Fashion Street, l’œuvre prend forme au travers de l’assemblage d’éléments hétéroclites, autant d’objets symptomatiques de la société contemporaine.

Pascale Marthine Tayou, Fashion Street, 2010
Crystal, matériaux divers, 258 x 47 x 37 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2011
© Photo: Mudam Luxembourg

Enfin, Many Spoken Words de Su-Mei Tse reprend le vocabulaire classique de la sculpture monumentale. Perlant d’une vasque, l’encre noire jaillit d’une fontaine de jardin d’inspiration baroque comme on en trouve fréquemment sur les places ou dans les jardins publics. À travers cette sculpture tant visuelle que sonore, l’artiste luxembourgeoise rend hommage à la littérature, évoquant le potentiel des mots et l’éternel renouvellement de la création.    

Su-Mei Tse, en collaboration avec Jean-Lou Majerus, Many Spoken Words, 2009
Encre noire, fonte, pierre, pompe, 220 x ø 450 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2009
© Photo : Andrés Lejona