THE COLLECTION

An international contemporary art collection

The Mudam Collection is the most important collection of contemporary art in Luxembourg. Resolutely international in its scope and ambition, the collection's holdings consist of close to 700 works of art in all media by artists from Luxembourg and around the world. A small nucleus of the collection consists of fashion and design objects. Over 54 works are the result of commissions by Mudam for its distinctive architectural context. The constitution of the collection traces back to the first acquisitions for the museum in the 1990s, the creation of the Museum of Modern Art Grand-Duc Jean Foundation in 1998, and the opening of the Museum in 2006. While the decade of the 1960s serves as an historic point of reference for contemporary art, the majority of works in the collection date from 1989 to the present. An exception to this historical span is the ensemble of furniture for the Paimio Sanatorium, designed between 1931 and 1933 by the architect Alvar Aalto, and acquired in 2002.

The process of acquiring artworks for the Mudam Collection was initiated in 1996 by the National Cultural Fund (Focuna), a public establishment presided over by Paul Reiles. The Focuna acquisitions committee includes then Bernard Ceysson, Maria de Corral, Jeff Erpelding, Lorand Hegyi, Lucien Kayser, Paul Reiles and HRH the Princess Sibilla of Luxembourg. Furthermore, in 1998 Bernard Ceysson became the first director of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam) Foundation.

From 2018 to 2021, under Suzanne Cotters direction, the board members selecting the artworks for Mudam Collection, are Nancy Spector (Artistic director – Chief Curator of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in New York), Daniel Birnbaum (Director of Moderna Museet de Stockholm) Okwui Enwezor (Director of the Haus der Kunst in Munich). 

History

In 2000, with the arrival of Marie-Claude Beaud as director, acquisition was taken over by the Mudam Foundation. In order to advise Mudam about its acquisitions policy and to validate the quality of selected artworks and their pertinence with regard to international production, Marie-Claude Beaud created a board which included Carmen Giménez (20th century art curator at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York), Paul Reiles (vice president of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean Foundation and honorary director of the Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxembourg), Dr. Stephan Schmidt-Wulffen (rector of the Kunstakademie of Vienna) and Sir Nicholas Serota (director of the Tate Gallery, London). Sir Nicholas was replaced in 2007 by Alfred Pacquement (director of the Musée national d’art moderne du Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris).

In 2010, Enrico Lunghi (director of Mudam from 2009 to 2017) changed the members of the board. It included Barnabás Bencsik (directeur of Ludwig Museum Budapest, and afterwards director of ACAX – Agency for Contemporary Art Exchange, Budapest), Jimena Blázquez Abascal (director of the NMAC Foundation, Vejer, Cádiz, Spain), Dr. Julia Draganovic (director of Kunsthalle Osnabrück) and Paul Reiles (vice president of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean Foundation and honorary director of the Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxembourg).

In 2016, the board members were Suzanne Cotter (director of Museu Serralves, Porto), Dr. Ulrike Groos (director of Kunstmuseum Stuttgart), Hou Hanru (art director of MAXXI, Rome) and Thierry Raspail (director of Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon).

The Luxembourgish context

The collection is devoted to international artworks as well as to local productions. Luxembourgish artists make up around ten per cent of artists in the collection. They are chosen for their quality and relevance, without having to fulfil any quotas, and always in consultation with the scientific committee.

Mudam’s arts programme also took Luxembourg itself and its particular situation into consideration by ordering a series of new collections within a local context. Both artists who originate from this country, and those who do not, are commissioned for these productions.

DIE SAMMLUNG

Eine internationale Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst

Die Mudam Sammlung ist die bedeutendste Sammlung für Gegenwartskunst in Luxemburg. Inhaltlich wie konzeptuell konsequent international, umfasst sie beinahe 700 Werke aller Medien von Künstlern aus Luxemburg und der ganzen Welt. Dabei besteht ein kleiner Teil der Sammlung aus Mode- und Designobjekten. Über 54 Werke in der Sammlung waren Auftragsarbeiten für das Mudam und entstanden unter Berücksichtigung seiner spezifischen architektonischen Gegebenheiten. Eckdaten für den Sammlungsaufbau waren die ersten Erwerbungen in den 1990er-Jahren, die Gründung des Museums 1998 und seine Eröffnung 2006. Wenngleich die 1960er-Jahre als historischer Bezugspunkt für die Gegenwartskunst gelten, datiert die Mehrzahl der Werke in der Sammlung aus den Jahren 1989 bis heute. Eine Ausnahme bildet das Möbelensemble für das Paimio-Sanatorium, welches zwischen 1931 und 1933 von dem Architekten Alvar Aalto entworfen und 2002 durch das Mudam erworben wurde.

Der Erwerb der Werke der Mudam Sammlung begann im Jahr 1996 durch den „Fonds Culturel National” (Focuna), eine öffentliche Stiftung unter dem Vorsitz von Paul Reiles. Der Ausschuss für Neuerwerbungen des Focuna bestand aus folgenden Mitgliedern: Bernard Ceysson, Maria de Corral, Jeff Erpelding, Lorand Hegyi, Lucien Kayser, Paul Reiles und I.K.H. Prinzessin Sibilla von Luxemburg. Im Jahre 1998 wurde Bernard Ceysson der erste Leiter der Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam).

Von 2018 bis 2020, unter der Leitung von Suzanne Cotter, sind die Mitglieder des wissenschaftlichen Ausschusses der die Werke der Mudam Sammlung auswählt: Nancy Spector (Artistic director – Chief Curator des Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in New York), Daniel Birnbaum (Direktor des Acute Art in London  Okwui Enwezor (ehemaliger Direktor des Haus der Kunst in München). 

Geschichte des Ausschusses

Im Jahr 2000 wurde die Arbeit von der Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean unter der Leitung von Marie-Claude Beaud fortgesetzt, deren besonderes Interesse den Arbeiten der jüngsten Künstlergeneration gilt. Auf Betreiben von Marie-Claude Beaud hat der Verwaltungsrat einen wissenschaftlichen Ausschuss eingerichtet, der das Mudam in seiner Erwerbungspolitik berät und die Qualität der ausgewählten Werke sowie ihren Stellenwert innerhalb der internationalen Kunstszene beurteilt. Mitglieder dieses Ausschusses waren: Carmen Giménez  (Kuratorin für Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York), Paul Reiles (Vizepräsident der Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean und Ehrendirektor des Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxemburg), Dr. Stephan Schmidt-Wulffen (Rektor der Kunstakademie Wien) und Sir Nicholas Serota (Direktor der Tate-Galerie, London). 2007 trat Alfred Pacquement (Direktor des Museum der Modernen Kunst – Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris) an Stelle von Sir Serota.

Im Jahr 2010 richtet Enrico Lunghi (Direktor des Mudams von 2009 bis 2017) einen neuen wissenschaftlichen Ausschuss ein. Mitglieder dieses Ausschusses sind: Barnabás Bencsik (Direktor des Ludwig Museum, Budapest, danach Direktor der ACAX – Agency for Contemporary Art Exchange, Budapest), Jimena Blázquez Abascal (Direktorin der Fondation NMAC, Vejer, Cádiz, Spanien), Dr. Julia Draganovic (Direktorin der Kunsthalle Osnabrück) und Paul Reiles (ehemaliger Direktor des Musée national d’histoire et d’art, Luxemburg).

Im Jahr 2016 waren die Mitglieder des wissenschaftlichen Ausschusses: Suzanne Cotter (Direktorin des Musée Serralves, Porto), Dr. Ulrike Groos (Direktorin des Kunstmuseum Stuttgart), Hou Hanau (Art Director des MAXXI, Rome) und Thierry Raspail (Direktor des Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon).

Der luxemburgische Kontext

In der Sammlung finden sich sowohl internationale Werke als auch Arbeiten einheimischer Künstler – etwa zehn Prozent der in der Sammlung vertretenen Künstler kommen aus Luxemburg. Entscheidend für ihre Auswahl, die stets in Abstimmung mit dem wissenschaftlichen Ausschuss stattfindet, ist die Qualität ihrer Werke und deren Relevanz für die zeitgenössische Kunst. Eine Quotenregelung gibt es nicht.

Im künstlerischen Programm des Mudam findet auch die besondere Lage des Landes Luxemburg Berücksichtigung – der lokale Kontext ist Gegenstand einer Reihe von Auftragsarbeiten. Diese Arbeiten stammen sowohl von einheimischen als auch von im Ausland lebenden Künstlern.