Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Mudam is the foremost museum dedicated to contemporary art in Luxembourg, and strives to be attentive to every discipline and open to the whole world. Its collection and programme reflect current artistic trends and appreciate the emergence of new artistic practices on a national and international scale.

I. M. Pei architect design © photo : Christian Aschman

The building, by famous Sino-American architect Ieoh Ming Pei, is a marvellous dialogue between the natural and historical environment. Standing against the vestiges of Fort Thüngen, it follows the course of the former surrounding walls, and is rooted in the Park Dräi Eechelen (planned by landscapist, Michel Desvigne) which offers magnificent views onto the old town just a short walk from the European district of Kirchberg.

The simple volumes and generous spaces of the building show the mastery of the architectural language by the famous architect in combining stone and glass. The skillful play between interior and exterior, multiplying the selected views onto the park environment whilst opening onto the sky thanks to the audacious glass canopy, is highlighted through the use of the covering in Magny Doré, a honey-coloured limestone which assumes, at any time of the day and in all seasons, subtle nuances depending on the light which it reflects. The museum is spread over three levels of 4,500 m2 of surface area dedicated to the visits. Its construction was begun in January 1999 and it was inaugurated on 1 July 2006.

The cultural project of Mudam is based on a conception of art seen at a poetical distance from the world. Its key words are freedom, innovation, a critical mind, and all this, not devoid of humour. The programme favours every vector of expression while questioning our habits and our representations. It aims to capture not only a way of contemporary thinking, but also the aesthetic language of an age to come.

Su-Mei Tse (en collaboration avec Jean-Lou Majerus) : Many Spoken Words, 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Christian Aschman

The Mudam Collection bares witness to contemporary creation in all its technical and aesthetic forms, while remaining open to every other artistic discipline: painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, as well as design, fashion, graphic design and new media are all put on show. Resolutely anchored in the contemporary, the collection endorses poetic variations from the great masters such as Bernd and Hilla Becher, Daniel Buren, Blinky Palermo or Cy Twombly. The museum’s interior and exterior furniture was entrusted to artists and designers such as Erwan and Ronan Bouroullec, Martin Szekely, Konstantin Grcic, Bert Theis, Andrea Blum or David Dubois). The Collection has been put together regarding the evolution of international creation while paying particular attention to the most significant national productions.

Mudam lives this adventure in relation with its public. The last-mentioned are invited to shed all preconceptions before entering the museum, to rid themselves of any prejudices and to apprehend art with a renewed look and in complete freedom. Numerous possibilities are offered in terms of the visit, from the most rigid to the most liberal, leaving a wide choice of exploration. A place for aesthetic discoveries, for reflection and contemplation, Mudam is also a place for conviviality in a restful environment (Mudam Café), and for finding treasures (Mudam Boutique).

The park

I. M. Pei Architect Design © Photo : Christian Aschman, 2009

The numerous works of contemporary art integrated into the Park Dräi Eechelen, together with its proximity to outstanding architecture, point up the entry to the Quartier Européen.

The Foundation

Created in 1998, the Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean is an organisation formed under civil law whose main patron is the State of Luxembourg.

The Foundation is administered by a Board of Directors chaired by S.A.R. la Grande-Duchesse Héritière de Luxembourg. Its mission is to manage the future Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean designed by Sino-American architect Ieoh Ming Pei.

Coming from the civil and public society, the members of the board were selected for their action in favour of contemporary art in Luxembourg and their role in the public structure (cultural, administrative and political) to develop the project of the Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean. Their presence and their action were and are essential for the developement of the Museum.


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

DAS MUSEUM

Mudam Luxembourg - Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Mudam, das Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Luxemburg, setzt sich für eine Vielfalt künstlerischer Disziplinen ein. Seine Sammlung und sein Ausstellungsprogramm stehen für die Tendenzen des zeitgenössischen Kunstschaffens und halten die Besucher ständig über neue künstlerische Arbeitsweisen auf dem Laufenden, auf nationaler wie auf internationaler Ebene.

I. M. Pei architect design © photo : Christian Aschman

Das Gebäude, ein Werk des chinesisch-amerikanischen Architekten Ieoh Ming Pei, steht in einem perfekten Dialog mit seinem natürlichen und historischen Umfeld. Erbaut unmittelbar hinter den Überresten des Fort Thüngen, dessen alte Wallmauern seinen Grundriss bestimmten, liegt es, nur wenige Schritte vom Europaviertel auf dem Kirchberg entfernt, im Park Dräi Eechelen, der vom Landschaftsarchitekten Michel Desvigne entworfen wurde und vom dem man eine herrliche Sicht auf die Altstadt hat.

Einfache Volumina und großzügig geschnittene Räume ebenso wie die Verbindung von Stein und Glas zeugen von der meisterhaften Beherrschung der architektonischen Mittel durch den berühmten Architekten. Das raffinierte Spiel zwischen Innen und Außen, bei dem eine Vielzahl von Ausblicken auf den umliegenden Park wie auch auf die Weite des Himmels durch die kühnen Glasdecken ermöglicht wird, wird unterstrichen durch die Verwendung von Magny Doré, einem honigfarbenen Kalkstein, der zu jeder Tages- und zu jeder Jahreszeit das Licht in subtilen farblichen Nuancen wiedergibt. Das Museum verfügt auf drei Etagen über 4500 m2 Ausstellungsfläche. Baubeginn war im Januar 1999, die Einweihung fand am 1. Juli 2006 statt.

Das kulturelle Projekt des Mudam beruht auf der Vorstellung von der Kunst als eine poetische Distanz zur Welt. Seine Hauptlinien lesen sich in den Worten Freiheit, Innovation, kritische Geisteshaltung, und all das nicht ohne Humor. In seinen Veranstaltungen wird nicht nur allen möglichen Ausdrucksformen Raum gegeben sondern es werden gleichzeitig auch unsere Gewohnheiten und überkommenen Vorstellungsweisen infrage gestellt. So werden Formen zeitgenössischen Denkens erforscht wie auch die ästhetische Sprache unserer sich entfaltenden Epoche vorgestellt.

Su-Mei Tse (en collaboration avec Jean-Lou Majerus) : Many Spoken Words, 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Christian Aschman

Die Mudam Sammlung ist als Zeuge des zeitgenössischen Kunstschaffens in all seinen technischen und ästhetischen Formen offen gegenüber allen künstlerischen Disziplinen: Malerei, Zeichnung, Skulptur, Fotografie, aber auch Design, Mode und die verschiedensten Formen der Graphik und der Neuen Medien präsentieren sich dem Blick der Besucher. Dabei erlaubt sich die entschieden in der Gegenwart verankerte Sammlung eine poetisch-künstlerische Bandbreite, die bei den großen Namen von Bernd und Hilla Becher bis zu Daniel Buren reicht, von Blinky Palermo bis hin zu Cy Twombly. Die Möblierung im Innern wie im Außenbereich wurde Künstlern und Designern wie Erwan und Ronan Bouroullec, Martin Szekely, Konstantin Grcic, Bert Theis, Andrea Blum oder David Dubois anvertraut. Die Sammlung entwickelt sich im Hinblick auf das internationale Kunstschaffen und bewahrt dabei eine besondere Aufmerksamkeit auch gegenüber den bedeutendsten Resultaten der regionalen Kunstszene.

Dieses Abenteuer erlebt Mudam gemeinsam mit seinen Besuchern. Die Besucher sind eingeladen, sich im Museum selbst neu zu erleben, Vorurteile hinter sich zu lassen und der Kunst mit einem neuen und befreiten Blick zu begegnen. Zahlreich sind die Möglichkeiten der verschiedensten Besichtigungen, von der detailliert geführten bis zur selbstständig freien hat der Besucher die Wahl. Als Ort für ästhetische Entdeckungen, für Reflexion und Betrachtung, ist das Mudam auch ein Ort der Geselligkeit in anregendem Rahmen (im Mudam Café) wie auch ein Ort für den anregenden Einkauf (im der Mudam Boutique).

Die Parkanlage

I. M. Pei Architect Design © Photo : Christian Aschman, 2009

Mit seinen zahlreichen Werken zeitgenössischer Kunst reiht sich der Park Dräi Eechelen unmittelbar in die außergewöhnliche Architektur ein, die den Eingang zum europäischen Viertel prägt.

Die Stiftung

Bei der Fondation Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam), die im Juli 1998 offiziell ins Leben gerufen wurde, handelt es sich um eine privatrechtliche Organisation, deren Hauptförderer der luxemburgische Staat ist.

Die Stiftung besteht aus einem Verwaltungsrat unter dem Vorsitz von S.A.R. la Grande-Duchesse Héritière de Luxembourg und hat die Aufgabe, das vom sino-amerikanischen Architekten Ieoh Ming Pei entworfene Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean zu verwalten.

Die Mitglieder des Verwaltungsrates stammen alle aus der zivilen Gesellschaft und dem öffentlichen Leben und wurden für ihren Einsatz zugunsten der Entstehung des Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean ausgewählt, sowie für ihre Tätigkeit in den Bereichen Kultur, Bildung und Politik. Ihr Engagement war und ist unentbehrlich für die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Kunst wie für das gute Funktionieren des Museums. Bei der Museumseröffnung übergab der Staat das Gebäude offiziell an die Stiftung.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970