MUDAM Logo

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC
03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013
Vernissage 02/08/2013 18h00
Share
 

Mudam Publics Summer Project

For its summer project, Mudam’s Publics Department invited the Japanese creator Yuri Suzuki to conceive Looks Like Music, an audiovisual installation based on his work Colour Chaser. This consists of a miniature robot which detects and follows a circuit – a black line traced in marker pen – interspersed with coloured reference points that the device translates in sound. The public is invited to actively contribute to the development of the installation in the exhibition space by extending the circuit drawn on paper. Visitors thus participate in the creation of a large-scale artwork and enrich a collectively composed sound piece. A series of events and workshops accompanies the project during the month of August.

© Photo : Mudam Luxembourg

Yuri Suzuki is a sound artist, designer and electronic musician whose recent work explores the physical and technological characteristics of sound production, an interest that has arisen since the loss of the music library stocked in his laptop when the hard drive crashed.

For his Royal College of Art graduation show in 2008, he presented work which involved an innovative way of playing conventional vinyl records, including Sound Chaser (a miniature electric circuit constructed from pieces of old records on which small cars circulate and transmit sound) and the Finger Player, a transmitter handled like a thimble, enabling the physical experience of the retransmission of sound by running a finger along a record.

Suzuki’s intention is ‘‘to raise public awareness of the way in which sound and music is produced’’ and in most cases this occurs through performances and workshops requiring public participation. For Mudam Summer Project he is therefore presenting workshops led by invited artists and creators that tackle a variety of themes such as learning the basic principles of electronic music and the creation of sound pieces using transformed objects.

Yuri Suzuki was born in Tokyo in 1980 and now lives in London and Stockholm. His installations and sound pieces have been presented in exhibitions around the world. Between 1999 and 2005 he collaborated with the art department of the Japanese firm Maywa Denky where he became interested in music and technology. He moved to London in 2005 for his studies at the Royal College of Art, during which he undertook projects for Yamaha and Moritz Waldemeyer. After graduating in 2008, he founded his own firm in London. In 2011, he became guest designer and artist of the Teenage Engineering collective in Stockholm. In 2013, he launched Dentaku Ltd, a research and development consultancy working for companies such as Widen+Kennedy, KK Outlet and AIAIAI.

Curator
Nadine Erpelding

Organised within the framework of the Mudam Publics Summer Project, with the support of Sappi Fine Paper Europe.

Agenda

WEDNESDAYS@MUDAM : Yuri Suzuki
31/07/2013 
6-8.30pm LIVE!
07, 21 & 28/08/2013 
6-8.30pm Playlists

PAVAN invité par Yuri Suzuki
14/08/2013 
6-8.30pm LIVE!

CELLULAR SOUNDS
Workshop by Dentaku Ltd.
For adults and young people
03/08/2013
2-3pm & 4-5pm

EVERYDAY ORCHESTRA
Workshop by Oscar Diaz
For 6 to 12 year-olds
10/08/2013
2-4pm

DESIGN SOME NOISE!
Workshop for 13 to 21 year-olds
14/08/2013
2-5pm

SOUND & VISION
Workshop by Mark McKeague and Naomi Elliott
For adults and young people
24/08/2013
2-4.30pm

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

YURI SUZUKI

LOOKS LIKE MUSIC
03/08/2013 - 26/08/2013
Vernissage 02/08/2013 18h00
Share
 

Mudam Publics Summer Project

Im Rahmen des Mudam Publics Summer Project wurde der japanische Designer Yuri Suzuki eingeladen, das Projekt Looks Like Music, eine visuelle Klanginstallation rund um seine Arbeit Colour Chaser, zu gestalten. Diese besteht aus einem Roboter in Miniaturformat der sowohl eine schwarze Linie wahrnimmt, der er folgt, als auch bunte Querstreifen, die er in Ton umwandelt. Die Besucher sind eingeladen, im Ausstellungsraum aktiv an der Entwicklung der Installation mitzuwirken, indem sie die auf Papier gezeichnete Route verlängern. Sie beteiligen sich somit an der Gestaltung einer großformatigen Arbeit und bereichern zugleich das kollektiv komponierte Klangstück. Eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen und Workshops gehen mit dem Projekt während des Monats August einher.

© Photo : Mudam Luxembourg

Yuri Suzuki ist ein Sound-Künstler, Designer und Elektro-Musiker, dessen jüngste Arbeit sich mit den physikalischen und technologischen Eigenschaften der Klangerzeugung befasst. Dieses Interesse wurde durch den Verlust seiner Musikbibliothek, die er auf seinem Laptop gespeichert hatte und dessen Festplatte versagte, erweckt.

Für seine Diplomarbeit im Jahr 2008, am Royal College of Art in London, präsentierte er Arbeiten, welche den Zweck haben auf innovative Weise konventionelle Schallplatten abzuspielen. Darunter der Sound Chaser, ein Miniatur-Stromkreis, hergestellt aus Teilen alter Platten, auf welchem kleine Autos zirkulieren und den Ton übertragen ; beim Finger Player handelt es sich um einen fingerhutartigen Transmitter, der es ermöglicht die Tonübertragung zu spüren, indem man den Finger an die Schallplatte legt.

Es ist Suzukis Absicht, mittels Performancen und Workshops, die die Beteiligung der Besucher erfordern, „das Publikum für die Art und Weise der Produktion von Musik und Ton zu sensibilisieren”. Für das Sommerprojekt des Mudam lädt er zu vier Workshops ein, welche von Künstlern und Designern geleitet werden, und unterschiedliche Themen aufgreifen, wie das Erlernen der Grundlagen elektronischer Musik und die Gestaltung von Klangstücken anhand zweckentfremdeter Gegenstände.

Yuri Suzuki, geboren im Jahr 1980 in Tokyo, lebt in London und Stockholm. Seine Installationen und Klangarbeiten wurden in Ausstellungen auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt. Zwischen 1999 und 2005 arbeitete er mit der künstlerischen Abteilung der japanischen Firma Maywa Denky zusammen, und entwickelte dort sein Interesse an Musik und Technik. Im Jahr 2005 zog er nach London um am Royal College of Art zu studieren. Während seiner Studienzeit entwickelte er Projekte für Yamaha und Moritz Waldemeyer. Nach seinem Abschluss im Jahr 2008 gründete er sein eigenes Studio in London. 2011 wurde er als Künstler und Designer vom Kollektiv Teenage Engineering nach Stockholm eingeladen. 2013 eröffnete er Dentaku Ltd, eine Beratungsagentur für Forschung und Entwicklung, und wird von Unternehmen wie Widen + Kennedy, KK Outlet und AIAIAI beauftragt. Zurzeit arbeitet er an einem Projekt für Disney.

Kuratorin
Nadine Erpelding

Organisiert im Rahmen vom Mudam Publics Summer Project, mit der Unterstützung von Sappi Fine Paper Europe.

Agenda

WEDNESDAYS@MUDAM : Yuri Suzuki
31/07/2013 
18-20.30 Uhr LIVE!
07, 21 & 28/08/2013 
18-20.30 Uhr Playlists

PAVAN invité par Yuri Suzuki
14/08/2013 
18-20.30 Uhr LIVE!

CELLULAR SOUNDS
Workshop mit Dentaku Ltd.
Für Erwachsene und Jugendliche
03/08/2013
14-15 Uhr & 16-17 Uhr

EVERYDAY ORCHESTRA
Workshop mit Oscar Diaz
Für Kinder von 6 bis 12 Jahre
10/08/2013
14-16 Uhr

DESIGN SOME NOISE!
Workshop für 13 bis 21-Jährige
14/08/2013
14-17 Uhr

SOUND & VISION
Workshop mit Mark McKeague und Naomi Elliott
Für Erwachsene und Jugendliche
24/08/2013
14-16.30 Uhr

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970