MUDAM Logo

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Vernissage 06/10/2017 18h00
Share
 

Marked by her cosmopolitan origins, between Europe and Asia, and by an attention to the sonorous dimension of the world, the practice of Su-Mei Tse involves issues such as time, memory, musicality, and language. Taking various forms – sculptures, videos, photographs, installations – her artworks always operate between different fields: between sound and image, nature and culture, mental space and sensory experience for example.

Su-Mei Tse, A Whole Universe (Pomegranate), 2017. Vue de l'exposition Elegy, Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong 2017 © Photo (détail) : Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong

Like the black ink that flows from the Many Spoken Words fountain, the question of the appearance of meaning, or its evanescence, is at the heart of the work of Tse. The simplicity of the forms the artist produces contrasts with their evocative power, with the plurality of the readings that emanate from them. Her works often seem to crystallise, in the guise of an “image”, an impression, an emotion or a remembrance – those intense and fleeting experiences, which, as in the title of one of her artworks, constitute the “dizziness of life”. In the same way, they also explore the ability of images, objects and sounds to trigger the imagination of the viewer.

This exhibition is the result of several years of research in different geographical contexts, starting with Italy and Asia. It brings together a large body of recent works and new productions, including a major installation for the museum’s Grand Hall. New directions are apparent in her work, including contemplation, our relation to the vegetable and the mineral, the multiplicity of modes of existence, and the possibility of a sensitive relationship with the past.

The exhibition was conceived to be like a notebook: a form that brings together impressions that have occurred in everyday life – be they visual, sound, or memory related – and blends them in a subjective and intuitive way, allowing a whole network of echoes and correspondences to be deployed.

Su-Mei Tse was born in 1973 in Luxembourg. She lives and works in Luxembourg and Berlin.

Curators:
Christophe Gallois
Katrin Weilenmann / Aargauer Kunsthaus

In collaboration with:
Aargauer Kunsthaus

Exhibition Partner:

Media partner:

The exhibition Su-Mei Tse . Nested is organised by Mudam Luxembourg and the Aargauer Kunsthaus in collaboration with the Yuz Museum Shanghai and the Taipei Fine Arts Museum.

International tour:

The international tour of the exhibition received generous funding from the National Cultural Fund, Luxembourg, and is made possible through significant support from Cargolux Airlines International.

Mudam Luxembourg
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Aargauer Kunsthaus
(Aarau, Switzerland)
06/05 - 12/08/2018
Yuz Museum
(Shanghai, China)
10/2018 - 02/2019
Taipei Fine Arts Museum
(Taiwan)
04/2019 - 07/2019

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

SU-MEI TSE

NESTED
07/10/2017 - 02/04/2018
Vernissage 06/10/2017 18h00
Share
 

Geprägt von ihren in Europa und Asien liegenden kosmopolitischen Wurzeln wie auch von ihrem Interesse an der klanglichen Dimension der Welt, durchziehen die künstlerische Praxis von Su-Mei Tse Fragen nach der Zeit, der Erinnerung, der Musikalität oder auch der Sprache. Ihre Werke, für die sie die unterschiedlichsten Medien wie Skulptur, Video, Fotografie und Installation wählt, bilden stets Übergänge zwischen verschiedenen Gebieten, wie z.B. zwischen Klang und Bild, Natur und Kultur oder dem geistigen Raum und der sinnlichen Erfahrung.

Su-Mei Tse, A Whole Universe (Pomegranate), 2017. Vue de l'exposition Elegy, Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong 2017 © Photo (détail) : Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong

Wie bei der schwarzen Tinte, die in ihrem Brunnen Many Spoken Words fließt, findet sich die Frage nach dem Erscheinen bzw. dem sich Auflösen von Sinn im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit von Su-Mei Tse. Die Einfachheit der von ihr vorgestellten Formen steht im Gegensatz zu ihrer Bildmächtigkeit und zur Vielfalt ihrer Lesemöglichkeiten. In ihren Werken scheint sich oftmals ein Eindruck, ein Gefühl oder eine Erinnerung in der Form eines „Bildes“ herauszukristallisieren, wie eine jener intensiven und flüchtigen Erfahrungen, die, um den Titel eines ihrer Werke aufzunehmen, den „Taumel des Lebens“ darstellen. Gleichzeitig untersuchen sie auch die Möglichkeiten von Bildern, Dingen und Klängen, die Fantasie des Betrachters anzuregen.

Als Ergebnis einer an den unterschiedlichsten Orten der Welt zwischen Italien und Asien durchgeführten mehrjährigen Forschungsarbeit versammelt diese Ausstellung eine Fülle von jüngeren Arbeiten und neuesten Produktionen, darunter eine eigens für den Grand Hall des Museums realisierte aufwändige Installation. Innerhalb dieses Ensembles zeichnen sich neue Fragestellungen für ihre Arbeit ab, Fragestellungen nach dem Kontemplativen, nach unseren Beziehungen zur Welt der Pflanzen und derjenigen der Mineralien oder nach der Möglichkeit eines feinfühligen Verhältnisses zur Vergangenheit.

Mit all diesen ineinander verflochtenen Thematiken wurde die Ausstellung wie nach dem Vorbild eines Notizbuches vorbereitet, in einer Form also, in der alltägliche visuelle oder klangliche Impressionen oder Erinnerungen versammelt sind, die dann auf subjektiv-intuitive Art vermischt werden und ein Netz aus echohaften Bezügen und Entsprechungen knüpfen.

Su-Mei Tse ist 1973 in Luxemburg geboren. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Luxemburg und Berlin.

Kuratoren:
Christophe Gallois
Katrin Weilenmann / Aargauer Kunsthaus

In Zusammenarbeit mit:
Aargauer Kunsthaus

Ausstellungspartner:

Medienpartner:

Die Ausstellung Su-Mei Tse . Nested wurde organisiert von Mudam Luxembourg und dem Aargauer Kunsthaus in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Yuz Museum Shanghai und dem Taipei Fine Arts Museum.

Wanderausstellung:

Die internationale Wanderausstellung wird durch den Nationalen Kulturfonds, Luxemburg gefördert und durch die Unterstützung von Cargolux Airlines International ermöglicht.

Mudam Luxembourg
07/10/2017 - 08/04/2018
Aargauer Kunsthaus
(Aarau, Schweiz)
06/05 - 12/08/2018
Yuz Museum
(Shanghai, China)
10/2018 - 02/2019
Taipei Fine Arts Museum
(Taiwan)
04/2019 - 07/2019

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970