MUDAM Logo

QUIZ 2 - BASED ON AN IDEA BY ROBERT STADLER

PART OF DESIGN CITY – LXBG BIENNALE 27/04 - 22/05/2016
20/02/2016 - 22/05/2016
Vernissage 19/02/2016 18h00
Share
 

In 2013, the City of Nancy gave carte blanche to the designer Robert Stadler. He joined Alexis Vaillant, then curator at the CAPC Contemporary Art Museum in Bordeaux, to curate an exhibition made of unrecognisable objects and titled Quiz, based on an idea by Robert Stadler. In this exhibition, the selected objects overshot the usual formulas “art or design?” / “art and design?”. While resisting the classical typologies of traditional sculpture, product or furniture, they make palpable the gradual dissipation of divisions between contemporary art and design.

Vues de l’exposition Quiz 2 - sur une idée de Robert Stadler, 20.02.2016 - 22.05.2016, Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Eric Chenal / Mudam Luxembourg

Two years later, Mudam Luxembourg proposed Robert Stadler and Alexis Vaillant to imagine a sequel to this exhibition. They decided to bring together some emblematic works of Nancy’s QUIZ exhibition, and to combine them with some ambivalent “things”. These things are ambivalent since they have as much assumed the dissolution of the border between art and design in progress since the 1960s as they are revealing the paradoxical persistence of art and design as autonomous hubs of activity. Art and Design are two domains that see emerge, each in their own way, things and ideas that feed on each other without ever amalgamating.

On the occasion of this exhibition, Robert Stadler and Alexis Vaillant brought together thirty texts in a digest entitled On Things as Ideas. Written between 1790 and today, these texts published in English address the economic, cultural and philosophical aspects of the “thingness of the thing”.

Curators:
Robert Stadler
Alexis Vaillant

Exhibition design:
Studio Robert Stadler

Featuring works by:
Cyril Afsa
Tomás Alonso
Hope Atherton
Aldo Bakker
Vincent Beaurin
Mario Bellini
Erwan & Ronan Bouroullec
Robert Breer
Marc Camille Chaimowicz
Toby Christian
Pierre Charpin
Paul Cocksedge
Claudia Comte
Aaron Curry
Björn Dahlström
Naoto Fukasawa
Laureline Galliot
Francisco Gomez Paz
Konstantin Grcic
Thomas Grünfeld
Zaha Hadid
Pablo Helguera
Herby Industries
Roger Hiorns
Yngve Holen
Donald Judd
Shiro Kuramata
Mathieu Lehanneur
Ross Lovegrove
Enzo Mari
Mathieu Mercier
Bruno Munari
David Musgrave
Ron Nagle
Philip Newcombe
Normal Studio
Jérôme Olivet
Giò Ponti
Gerwald Rockenschaub
Karin Ruggaber
Trevor Shimizu
Ettore Sottsass
Robert Stadler
Philippe Starck
Superstudio
Blair Thurman
Pierre Vadi
Marcel Wanders
Nicole Wermers
Heimo Zobernig

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

QUIZ 2 – NACH EINER IDEE VON ROBERT STADLER

IM RAHMEN VON DESIGN CITY – LXBG BIENNALE 27/04 - 22/05/2016
20/02/2016 - 22/05/2016
Vernissage 19/02/2016 18h00
Share
 

Im Jahr 2013 gab die Stadt Nancy dem Designer Robert Stadler Carte Blanche. Stadler schloss sich mit Alexis Vaillant zusammen, der damals Kurator am CAPC, dem Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Bordeaux war, um mit ihm gemeinsam eine Ausstellung unkenntlicher Objekte mit dem Titel Quiz, nach einer Idee von Robert Stadler zu kuratieren. Die in dieser Ausstellung vereinten Objekte gingen über die Fragestellungen „Kunst oder Design? / Kunst und Design?” deutlich hinaus. Sie widerstanden einer eindeutigen Zuordnung zu herkömmlichen Kategorien wie Skulptur, Produkt oder Möbel und machten so die sich auflösende Kluft zwischen zeitgenössischer Kunst und Design deutlich.

Vues de l’exposition Quiz 2 - sur une idée de Robert Stadler, 20.02.2016 - 22.05.2016, Mudam Luxembourg © Photo : Eric Chenal / Mudam Luxembourg

Zwei Jahre danach schlägt das Mudam Luxembourg Robert Stadler und Alexis Vaillant vor, eine zweite Auflage dieser Ausstellung zu konzipieren. Sie entscheiden, gewisse emblematische Werke von Quiz in Nancy auszuwählen und um diese herum „Dinge” zu versammeln, deren mutmaßliche Ambivalenz zugleich die seit den 1960er Jahren zu beobachtende Auflösung der Grenze zwischen Kunst und Design, sowie das, angesichts dieses stetigen Trends paradoxe Fortbestehen spezifischer Charakteristika beider Bereiche, hinterfragt. Zwei Bereiche, in denen jeweils eigenständige Dinge und Ideen entstehen, die sich gegenseitig befruchten ohne jemals miteinander zu verschmelzen.

Begleitend zu dieser Ausstellung erscheint ein von Robert Stadler und Alexis Vaillant zusammengestellter Band mit dem Titel On Things as Ideas. Die rund dreißig, in englischer Sprache veröffentlichte Texte aus der Zeit von 1790 bis heute beleuchten wirtschaftliche, kulturelle und philosophische Aspekte der „Dinglichkeit der Dinge”.

Kuratoren:
Robert Stadler
Alexis Vaillant

Ausstellungsgestaltung:
Studio Robert Stadler

Mit Werken von:
Cyril Afsa
Tomás Alonso
Hope Atherton
Aldo Bakker
Vincent Beaurin
Mario Bellini
Erwan & Ronan Bouroullec
Robert Breer
Marc Camille Chaimowicz
Toby Christian
Pierre Charpin
Paul Cocksedge
Claudia Comte
Aaron Curry
Björn Dahlström
Naoto Fukasawa
Laureline Galliot
Francisco Gomez Paz
Konstantin Grcic
Thomas Grünfeld
Zaha Hadid
Pablo Helguera
Herby Industries
Roger Hiorns
Yngve Holen
Donald Judd
Shiro Kuramata
Mathieu Lehanneur
Ross Lovegrove
Enzo Mari
Mathieu Mercier
Bruno Munari
David Musgrave
Ron Nagle
Philip Newcombe
Normal Studio
Jérôme Olivet
Giò Ponti
Gerwald Rockenschaub
Karin Ruggaber
Trevor Shimizu
Ettore Sottsass
Robert Stadler
Philippe Starck
Superstudio
Blair Thurman
Pierre Vadi
Marcel Wanders
Nicole Wermers
Heimo Zobernig

Im Rahmen von

www.designcity.lu

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970