MUDAM Logo

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM
28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015
Vernissage 11/07/2014 18h00
Share
 

Bernsteinzimmer (2010) by the Romanian-born Hungarian artist István Csákány is a detailed and complex reconstruction, completely in wood, of a private atelier. The effect of artistic alienation brought about by the completely wooden construction gives the untidy cellar room, which seems to have been just recently abandoned, something of the effect of a metaphorical mise en abyme, a figurative repetition: an interior reflecting the everyday, ordered chaos of a man who takes refuge in his tinkering and who has portrayed his own prosaic reality at life size.

István Csákány : Bernsteinzimmer, 2010 (détail) © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

In fact, with this atelier, Csákány recalls that of his father, the memory of which is today as rough to him as the wooden design of the work. At the same time, this highly elaborate and skilfully built replica of a typical kind of refuge seems to move within the deep-blue space of the museum pavilion like an interstellar time capsule detached from space and time, which the viewer looks into as into a foreign world.

With Bernsteinzimmer, Csákány additionally underlines how important skilled artistic work carried out in a collective is for art, as he also does with the title's reference to the famous Amber Room. This masterpiece of Baroque craftsmanship, which has become almost legendary owing to its mysterious disappearance in the Second World War, was sent to Saint Petersburg from Berlin in 1716 as a present by the Prussian King Frederick William I to Czar Peter the Great. It was not just the perfect product of a masterly collaboration between now-forgotten amber carvers with its creator, Andreas Schlüter: its material and its history also gave the work a complicated temporal structure that was interesting for the Hungarian artist.

István Csákány was born in 1978 in Sepsiszentgyörgy (Sfântu Gheorghe), Romania. He lives and works in Berlin.

 
 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

ISTVÁN CSÁKÁNY

COLLECTION MUDAM
28/06/2014 - 25/01/2015
Vernissage 11/07/2014 18h00
Share
 

Bernsteinzimmer (2010) des in Rumänien geborenen Ungarn István Csákány ist eine ganz in Holz ausgeführte detailreiche und komplexe Rekonstitution einer privaten Heimwerkstatt. Der unaufgeräumt, wie soeben verlassen wirkende fensterlose Kellerraum bekommt durch die künstlerische Verfremdung seiner vollkommenen Gestaltung in Holz etwas von einer metaphorischen Mise en abyme, einer bildlichen Wiederholung: ein Innenraum, in dem sich das alltägliche, geordnete Chaos eines sich in die Bricolage zurückziehenden Mannes spiegelt, der seine eigene prosaische Wirklichkeit lebensgroß abgebildet hat.

 

István Csákány : Bernsteinzimmer, 2010 (détail) © Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Tatsächlich bezieht sich Csákány mit der Werkstatt auf diejenige seines Vaters, deren Erinnerung ihm heute so grob vorkommt wie die Gestaltung der Arbeit im Holz selbst. Gleichzeitig scheint diese so aufwändig und kunstvoll gestaltete Replik eines so typischen Refugiums sich im tiefblauen Raum des Museumspavillons wie eine interstellare Zeitkapsel zu bewegen, wie losgelöst von Raum und Zeit, in die der Betrachter Einblick hat wie in eine fremde Welt.

Daneben unterstreicht Csákány mit Bernsteinzimmer die Bedeutung der im Kollektiv ausgeübten handwerklichen Kunstfertigkeit für die Kunst, wie dies auch durch den Bezug des Titels auf das berühmte Bernsteinzimmer geschieht. Dieses durch sein geheimnisvolles Verschwinden im 2. Weltkrieg geradezu mythisch gewordene Meisterwerk barocker Handwerkskunst, das 1716 als Geschenk des Preußischen Königs Friedrich Wilhelms I. an Zar Peter den Großen von Berlin nach Sankt Petersburg gelangte, war nicht nur das perfekte Ergebnis der meisterlichen Zusammenarbeit heute vergessener Bernsteinschnitzer mit seinem Schöpfer Andreas Schlüter; sein Material und seine Geschichte gaben ihm darüber hinaus eine für den ungarischen Künstler interessante komplizierte zeitliche Struktur.

István Csákány wurde in 1978 in Sepsiszentgyörgy (Sfântu Gheorghe), Rumänien geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.