MUDAM Logo

DOUBLE CODING

COLLECTION MUDAM
17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

The starting point of the exhibition, the artwork by Andrea Mastrovito entitled Non ci Resta Che Piangere (There's Nothing Left To Do But Cry) encourages us to refuse any unambiguous reading of history.

Andrea Mastrovito, Non Ci Resta Che Piangere (There’s Nothing Left To Do But Cry), 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg – Acquisition 2011 © Vue de l’exposition Slash : Paper Under the Knife, Museum of Arts and Design New York, 2009 – 2010, photo : Museum of Arts and Design New York

When invited to exhibit at the Museum of Arts and Design in New York, the artist, in response to the presence of a statue of Christopher Columbus in front of the museum, decided to literally reverse the explorer’s caravel and thereby question the benefits of the discovery of America, which are very relative when one adopts the perspective of indigenous peoples. The exhibition combines various practices and focuses on how artists use events and stories – whether historical or personal – to explore them and analyse their sources but also to meaningfully transcribe them.

(subject to change)

Curator:
Marie-Nöelle Farcy
assisted by Lisa Baldelli

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

DOUBLE CODING

COLLECTION MUDAM
17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

Als Ausgangspunkt für die Ausstellung ist Andrea Mastrovitos Werk Non ci resta che piangere (There’s Nothing Left To Do But Cry) Aufforderung an uns, uns von jedem einseitigen Geschichtsverständnis zu lösen.

Andrea Mastrovito, Non Ci Resta Che Piangere (There’s Nothing Left To Do But Cry), 2009, Collection Mudam Luxembourg – Acquisition 2011 © Vue de l’exposition Slash : Paper Under the Knife, Museum of Arts and Design New York, 2009 – 2010, photo : Museum of Arts and Design New York

Für seine Ausstellung im Museum of Arts and Design in New York entschied sich der Künstler angesichts einer Statue von Christoph Kolumbus vor dem Gebäude, die Karavelle des Entdeckers buchstäblich auf den Kopf zu stellen und sich auf diesem Weg mit den vermeintlichen Segnungen der Entdeckung Amerikas zu beschäftigen, die aus Sicht der autochthonen Völker durchaus zweifelhaft sind. Die Ausstellung, in der ganz unterschiedliche künstlerische Praktiken zusammenfinden, zeigt, in welcher Form sich Künstler Ereignissen und geschichtlichen wie privaten Erzählungen nähern, um diese zu durchdringen, ihre Ursprünge zu analysieren oder sie behutsam neu zu schreiben.

(Änderungen vorbehalten)

Kurator:
Marie-Nöelle Farcy

Kuratorische Asssistenz:
Lisa Baldelli

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970