13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013
Vernissage 12/10/2012 18h00

Since 1988, Luxembourg has regularly participated in one of the most important international contemporary art events: the Venice Biennale, one of the characteristics of which is the hosting of national pavilions, inherited from the model of 19th century International Exhibitions. The history of Luxembourg’s participation in the Venice Biennale reads like a veritable success story.

Simone Decker : Chewing in Venice, Collection Mudam Luxembourg & Prototype pour un espace infini, Courtesy de l'artiste, 1999/2012, Versions exposées : Production Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

The first participations only offered Luxembourg’s artists limited exhibition conditions: confined to the Padiglione Italia, which at the time hosted countries without pavilions. Then, in 1995 what appeared to be an inextricable situation - the eviction of countries without pavilions from the Giardini, the main site for the Biennale - turned to Luxembourg’s advantage. Finally, in 2003 to everyone’s surprise, the Luxembourg pavilion, installed since 1999 in a 15th century building known as the Ca’ del Duca, was awarded the Golden Lion for best national participation.

The exhibition Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 retraces the exceptional development of the presence of a small country in this international contemporary art event. As far as possible, it reconstructs the artistic projects as they were displayed in Venice, with the original artworks and the necessary adaptations for their exhibition in a museum context. Presented are the projects by Patricia Lippert and Moritz Ney (1988), Marie-Paule Feiereisen (1990), Jean-Marie Biwer and Bertrand Ney (1993), the pavilion Potemkin Lock by Bert Theis (1995), a reinterpretation of the installation Magazzino by Luc Wolff (1997), Chewing and Folding in Venice by Simone Decker (1999), the installation Casa Mia by Doris Drescher (2001), the exhibition Air Conditioned by Su-Mei Tse (2003), Mondo Veneziano a movie by Antoine Prum (2005), the video installation Collision Zone by Gast Bouschet and Nadine Hilbert (2009) and the installation Le Cercle fermé by Martine Feipel and Jean Bechameil (2011).

Because it was intimately linked to the space of the Ca’ del Duca itself, the project Endless Lust by Jill Mercedes (2007) is only presented in the exhibition in the form of documentation.

Avant : Bertrand Ney : Facteur X & Ce n'est rien ou l'air du temps, 1993, détail, Courtesy de l'artiste. Arrière : Jean-Marie Biwer : Les Petites Choses, 2012, Collections Funck, Patrick Thill, Martine Weinandy et collections privées, Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

The various presentations are accompanied by archive documents and filmed interviews specially produced for the occasion, in which the artists cast a retrospective gaze on their Venetian experience. The considerable development of Luxembourg’s art scene over the last 25 years is indirectly reflected through the Biennales.

This exhibition is part of the framework of Atelier Luxembourg, an initiative including several exhibitions and projects focussed on artistic creativity in Luxembourg since 1945, developed in partnership with Casino Luxembourg - Forum d’art contemporain, the Centre national de l’audiovisuel (Dudelange), the Musée d’histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, the Musée national d’histoire et d’art and Villa Vauban - Musée d’art de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Luxembourg’s 1956 participation in the Venice Biennale is currently on display at the Musée national d’histoire et d’art in Luxembourg (21/09/2012 - 20/01/2013).

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil : Le Cercle fermé, 2011/2012, détail, Version exposée : Production Mudam Luxembourg, Courtesy des artistes et Collection Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole


Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 
French / English. 156 pages. DVD : 115'
ISBN 978-2-919923-10-6. 20 €

Enrico Lunghi

Under the Patronage of
Her Royal Highness The Grand Duchess

Main partner for the exhibition
Banque BSI Luxembourg SA


Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

Nous trouver

+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

ATELIER LUXEMBOURG

THE VENICE BIENNALE PROJECTS 1988-2011
13/10/2012 - 24/02/2013
Vernissage 12/10/2012 18h00
Share
 

Luxemburg ist seit 1988 regelmäßig auf einer der bedeutendsten internationalen Ausstellungen für zeitgenössische Kunst vertreten - der Biennale in Venedig. Eine Besonderheit dieser Kunstschau besteht darin, dass sich die Länder, nach dem Vorbild der Weltausstellungen des 19. Jahrhunderts, in nationalen Pavillons präsentieren. Die Geschichte der Teilnahme Luxemburgs an der Biennale liest sich wie eine wahre Erfolgsstory.

Simone Decker : Chewing in Venice, Collection Mudam Luxembourg & Prototype pour un espace infini, Courtesy de l'artiste, 1999/2012, Versions exposées : Production Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

Dabei mussten die luxemburgischen Künstler ihre Arbeiten anfangs noch unter beengten Verhältnissen im Padiglione Italia präsentieren, der damals den Ländern ohne eigenen Pavillon teilweise zur Verfügung gestellt wurde. 1995 dann wurden diese Länder aus den Giardini, dem Hauptstandort der Biennale, verbannt. Was zunächst das Ende für die luxemburgische Präsenz in Venedig zu sein schien, sollte sich bald als Glücksfall für das Großherzogtum erweisen, und zur allgemeinen Überraschung wurde der luxemburgische Pavillon, der seit 1999 eine Heimat in der im 15. Jahrhundert erbauten Ca’ del Duca gefunden hat, 2003mit dem Goldenen Löwen für die beste nationale Teilnahme ausgezeichnet.

Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 zeichnet den außergewöhnlichen Weg nach, den das kleine Land Luxemburg mit seinen Teilnahmen an der internationalen Ausstellung für zeitgenössische Kunst in Venedig gegangen ist. Für die Ausstellung wurden die künstlerischen Projekte mit Originalwerken so weit wie möglich formal so rekonstruiert, wie sie seinerzeit in Venedig gezeigt wurden - mit gewissen für ihre Präsentation im musealen Rahmen notwendigen Anpassungen. Vorgestellt werden die Projekte von Patricia Lippert und Moritz Ney (1988), Marie-Paule Feiereisen (1990), Jean-Marie Biwer und Bertrand Ney (1993), der Pavillon Potemkin Lock von Bert Theis (1995), eine Neuinterpretation der Installation Magazzino von Luc Wolff (1997), Chewing and Folding in Venice von Simone Decker (1999), die Installation Casa Mia von Doris Drescher (2001), die Ausstellung Air Conditioned von Su-Mei Tse (2003), Mondo Veneziano ein Film von Antoine Prum (2005), die Video-Installation Collision Zone von Gast Bouschet und Nadine Hilbert (2009) und die Installation Le Cercle fermé von Martine Feipel und Jean Bechameil (2011).

Das Projekt Endless Lust von Jill Mercedes (2007), das eng mit dem Raum des Ausstellungsortes verbunden war, wird als Dokumentation präsentiert.

Avant : Bertrand Ney : Facteur X & Ce n'est rien ou l'air du temps, 1993, détail, Courtesy de l'artiste. Arrière : Jean-Marie Biwer : Les Petites Choses, 2012, Collections Funck, Patrick Thill, Martine Weinandy et collections privées, Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

Ergänzend zu den einzelnen Beiträgen zur Biennale sind Dokumente aus Archiven sowie eigens für die Ausstellung aufgenommene Interviews zu sehen, in denen die Künstler ihre Erfahrungen in Venedig noch einmal Revue passieren lassen. Die Rückschau auf die Geschichte der luxemburgischen Biennale-Beiträge spiegelt indirekt auch die Entwicklung der Kunstszene in Luxemburg während der vergangenen 25 Jahre wider.

Die Ausstellung ist Teil der Initiative Atelier Luxembourg, im Rahmen welcher diverse Ausstellungen und Projekte rund um das künstlerische Schaffen in Luxemburg seit 1945 stattfinden. Atelier Luxembourg wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Casino Luxembourg - Forum d’art contemporain, dem Centre national de l’audiovisuel (Düdelingen), dem Musée d’histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, dem Musée national d’histoire et d’art und der Villa Vauban - Musée d’art de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Der luxemburgische Beitrag zur Biennale in Venedig des Jahres 1956 ist gegenwärtig im Musée national d’histoire et d’art in Luxemburg zu sehen (21/09/2012 - 20/01/2013).

Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil : Le Cercle fermé, 2011/2012, détail, Version exposée : Production Mudam Luxembourg, Courtesy des artistes et Collection Mudam Luxembourg © photo : Aurélien Mole

Katalog

Atelier Luxembourg - The Venice Biennale Projects 1988-2011 
Französisch / Englisch. 156 Seiten. DVD : 115'
ISBN 978-2-919923-10-6. 20 €

Kurator
Enrico Lunghi

Unter der Schirmherrschaft
Ihrer Königlichen Hoheit Der Großherzogin

Hauptpartner der Ausstellung
Banque BSI Luxembourg SA