MUDAM Logo

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT
17/06/2017 - 21/01/2018
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

Most famous for his radical and emblematic monochrome paintings of the 1950s and 1960s, Ad Reinhardt was also a prolific illustrator, with thousands of his caustically witty drawings and collages published widely in the American press.

Ad Reinhardt, Untitled, 1943. Publié dans le magazine PM, le 23 avril 1943. Courtesy de David Zwirner, New York/Londres © Photo : 2015 Estate of Ad Reinhardt / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Through a broad selection of more than 250 original illustrations and drawings from his commercial art practice, the exhibition at Mudam Luxembourg underscores the artist’s great freedom of expression and commitment to social and political causes. It also explores the echoes of this less examined aspect of Reinhardt’s work in contemporary art.

Works on paper by Ad Reinhardt.
With:

Luis Camnitzer
Sara Cwynar
Judith Hopf
Kerry James Marshall
Álvaro Oyarzún
Lili Reynaud-Dewar
Olav Westphalen

Curators:
Diana Baldon
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

Exhibition realised in collaboration with the Ad Reinhardt Foundation, New York, and with thanks to David Zwirner, New York/London. The works of Ad Reinhardt were originally presented at Malmö Konsthall, Sweden, in the exhibition Art vs. History that took place between 12 June and 6 September 2015, and was curated by Diana Baldon.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT
17/06/2017 - 21/01/2018
Vernissage 16/06/2017 18h00
Share
 

Bekannt für seine radikalen und symbolischen monochrome Gemälde der 1950er und 1960er Jahren, war Ad Reinhardt auch ein sehr produktiver Illustator, der Tausende von bissig-humoristischen Zeichnungen und Collagen in der amerikanischen Presse veröffentlicht hat.

Ad Reinhardt, Untitled, 1943. Publié dans le magazine PM, le 23 avril 1943. Courtesy de David Zwirner, New York/Londres © Photo : 2015 Estate of Ad Reinhardt / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York

Dank einer breiten Auswahl von mehr als 250 Abbildungen und Zeichnungen aus seiner kommerzielleren Kunstpraxis, unterstreicht die Ausstellung im Mudam Luxembourg die große Freiheit in der Ausdrucksweise sowie den Einsatz des Künstlers im Bereich politischer und sozialer Themen. Sie untersucht zudem das Echo dieses weitgehend unbekannten Aspekts im Schaffen Reinhardts innerhalb der zeitgenössischen Kunst.

Werke auf Papier von Ad Reinhardt.
Mit:

Luis Camnitzer
Sara Cwynar
Judith Hopf
Kerry James Marshall
Álvaro Oyarzún
Lili Reynaud-Dewar
Olav Westphalen

Kuratoren:
Diana Baldon
Marie-Noëlle Farcy

Ausstellung in Zusammenarbeit mit der Ad Reinhardt Stiftung, New York, mit Unterstützung von David Zwirner, New York/London. Die Werke von Ad Reinhardt wurden zunächst in der Malmö Konsthall, Schweden, im Rahmen der Ausstellung Art vs. History (12. Juni – 6. September 2015) gezeigt, die von Diana Baldon kuratiert wurde.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970