MUDAM Logo

ARCHIVES

Darren AlmondDarren Almond

DARREN ALMOND

TIMESCAPE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

With surprising formal diversity and great conceptual coherence, the work of Darren Almond is informed by concerns such as time, space, history and landscape. Exploring how these different dimensions intersect and how we “inhabit” them, many of his artworks testify to his interest in subjective, liminal experiences, playing on the foundations of our perception and knowledge. Devised as a “temporal landscape” deploying all facets of his practice his exhibition at Mudam Luxembourg highlights how, in his work, different time scales resonate.

Samuel GratacapSamuel GratacapSamuel Gratacap

SAMUEL GRATACAP

EMPIRE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

As a photographer whose work lies both in the field of visual arts and the media, Samuel Gratacap is interested in phenomena of migration and transit zones generated by contemporary conflicts. His projects are the result of long periods of immersion, time to understand the complexity of situations and restore what, beyond the numbers, maps and geopolitics, is its heart: trajectories and personal experiences.

Tony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony Cragg

TONY CRAGG

11/02/2017 - 03/09/2017

Tony Cragg’s work, which has been charting new ground since the 1970s, is part of a busy dialogue with matter. Whether made of wood, glass, plastic or bronze, his sculptures associate the particular qualities of a material with the vitality of a form. This major exhibition offers the public a chance to discover the oeuvre of one of the most important contemporary sculptors.    

Martin EderMartin EderMartin Eder

MARTIN EDER

PSYCHIC

17/06/2017 - 03/09/2017

As a painter and musician Martin Eder, who is a charismatic figure from the Berlin art scene, develops pictorial work that combines kitsch, eroticism and mythological figures. Known for his brightly coloured paintings of pets or girls in suggestive poses, he portrays a singular universe in which his realistic style and classical compositions are combined in a dream world which is often disturbing. His most recent work explores the relationship between dream and reality and states of consciousness that oscillate between these two dimensions.

Mary Reid KelleyMary Reid Kelley

MARY REID KELLEY

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

Trained as a painter, the American artist Mary Reid Kelley nevertheless rapidly engaged with the video medium to develop a singular visual universe. Her black and white films, with their expressionist look, sometimes recall the early days of cinema. In costume and make up, she embodies the main character she portrays in a historic setting, whether it be the Second Empire or the First World War.

Double Coding

DOUBLE CODING

COLLECTION MUDAM

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

The starting point of the exhibition, the artwork by Andrea Mastrovito entitled Non ci resta che piangere (There's Nothing Left To Do But Cry) encourages us to refuse any unambiguous reading of history. When invited to exhibit at the Museum of Arts and Design in New York, the artist, in response to the presence of a statue of Christopher Columbus in front of the museum, decided to literally reverse the explorer’s caravel and thereby question the benefits of the discovery of America.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

MUDAM Logo

ARCHIV

Darren AlmondDarren Almond

DARREN ALMOND

TIMESCAPE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

Das Werk von Darren Almond wirft Fragen nach der Zeit, dem Raum, der Geschichte und der Landschaft auf wie auch danach, wie sich all diese unterschiedlichen Dimensionen durchkreuzen und, im Hintergrund, wie unsere persönliche Erfahrung mit ihnen umgeht. Seine als „zeitliche Landschaft” verstandene Ausstellung im Mudam Luxembourg präsentiert sämtliche Facetten seiner künstlerischen Arbeit und betont die Art und Weise, wie in seinem Werk die unterschiedlichen zeitlichen Ebenen einander in Resonanz bringen.    

Samuel GratacapSamuel GratacapSamuel Gratacap

SAMUEL GRATACAP

EMPIRE

11/02/2017 - 14/05/2017

Als Fotograf, dessen Arbeit gleichermaßen dem Bereich der Bildenden Kunst wie demjenigen der Medien angehört, interessiert sich Samuel Gratacap für die Migrationsphänomene und die Transitzonen, welche durch die heutigen Konflikte entstehen. Seine Projekte sind das Ergebnis langer Immersionsphasen, einer Zeit, die notwendig erscheint um die Komplexität der Situationen zu verstehen und um das, was sie jenseits von Zahlen, Karten und geopolitischen Daten ausmacht, wiederzugeben: die individuellen Lebensläufe und die persönlichen Erfahrungen.

Tony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony CraggTony Cragg

TONY CRAGG

11/02/2017 - 03/09/2017

Das Werk von Tony Cragg, das seit den 1970er Jahren in ständiger Erneuerung begriffen ist, basiert auf einem intensiven Dialog mit der Materie. Seine Skulpturen – ob aus Holz, Glas, Kunststoff oder Bronze bestehend – verbinden die Eigenschaften eines Materials mit der Vitalität einer Form. Diese groß angelegte Ausstellung bietet dem Publikum die Gelegenheit, das Werk eines der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Bildhauer zu entdecken.    

Martin EderMartin EderMartin Eder

MARTIN EDER

PSYCHIC

17/06/2017 - 03/09/2017

Martin Eder, Maler und Musiker, ist eine der schillerndsten Figuren der aktuellen Berliner Kunstszene. In seinem malerischen Werk vermischen sich Kitsch, Erotik und mythologische Figuren. Eder ist vor allem bekannt für seine grellen Darstellungen von Haustieren und jungen Mädchen in zweideutigen Posen. So lässt er ein ganz einzigartiges Universum entstehen, in dem sein realistischer Stil und seine klassischen Kompositionen sich zu – häufig beunruhigenden – Traumwelten fügen.

Mary Reid KelleyMary Reid Kelley

MARY REID KELLEY

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

Nach ihrem Studium der Malerei wandte sich die amerikanische Künstlerin Mary Reid Kelley schon bald der Videokunst zu, um ein äußerst eigenwilliges visuelles Universum zu entwickeln. Ihre Schwarzweißfilme erinnern nicht selten an die expressionistische Frühzeit des bewegten Bildes. Die Hauptrolle darin übernimmt die Künstlerin – entsprechend kostümiert und maskiert – stets selbst, wobei häufig historische Epochen wie das Zweite Kaiserreich oder der Erste Weltkrieg den Kontext liefern.

Double Coding

DOUBLE CODING

COLLECTION MUDAM

17/06/2017 - 10/09/2017

Als Ausgangspunkt für die Ausstellung ist Andrea Mastrovitos Werk Non ci resta che piangere (There’s Nothing Left To Do But Cry) Aufforderung an uns, uns von jedem einseitigen Geschichtsverständnis zu lösen. Für seine Ausstellung im Museum of Arts and Design in New York entschied sich der Künstler angesichts einer Statue von Christoph Kolumbus vor dem Gebäude, die Karavelle des Entdeckers auf den Kopf zu stellen und sich mit den vermeintlichen Segnungen der Entdeckung Amerikas zu beschäftigen.

Hard to picture

HARD TO PICTURE

A TRIBUTE TO AD REINHARDT

17/06/2017 - 28/01/2018

Parallel zu seinen Schriften zur Kunst und seinem malerischen Schaffen, das schließlich zu so radikalen und symbolischen Werken wie seinen monochromen Gemälden führte, war Ad Reinhardt seit den 1930er Jahren auch als Illustrator tätig, der in der amerikanischen Presse bissig-humoristische Zeichnungen veröffentlichte. Die Ausstellung unterstreicht die große Freiheit in der Ausdrucksweise sowie den Einsatz des Künstlers sowohl im Bereich politischer und gesellschaftlicher Themen als auch in der abstrakten Kunst.

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970