MUDAM Logo

PIERRE BASTIEN: SILENT MOTORS

Share
 

Discretion: it's the first word that comes to mind when thinking about Pierre Bastien, although he is an internationally active French musician since 40 years now. From free improvisation and the inventive jazz scene to electronic circles, Pierre Bastien is a musician and an artist whose unique creative grid gives him the liberty of working at the edge of different scenes.

The music device of Pierre Bastien, articulated around traditional instruments, engines, objects and paper, is at the crossroads of scholarly and popular music. Scholarly because the territory of Pierre Bastien is first of all a literary one, fed by surrealism and every literature which, from André Breton to Raymond Roussel, from poems drawn by Francis Picabia to the imaginary countries of Henri Michaux, operates in its own way a reversal of reality. But also popular, because the instrumental tunes taking place there and the poetic spaces thus opened, relate to the part of childhood wonder, from traditional African music to primitive jazz of Joe King Oliver, passing by musical gestures by artists such as Moondog, peculiar and outstanding.

Pierre Bastien’s concerts and installations, organised around traditional instruments, miniature and fragile machinery, as well as shadows, images and superpositions, are at the crossroads of scholarly and popular music, offering a space of visualisation.

For Eppur si muove, Pierre Bastien will show his new set, ‘Silent motors’ organising paper instruments (organs, flutes...), machines and musicians of the past in the form of video images, in a poetic and delicate world.

Entrance fee to Mudam: 7€

© Pierre Bastien

 

Mudam Luxembourg
3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg

info@mudam.lu

Nous trouver

Accueil
+352 45 37 85-960

Standard administratif
+352 45 37 85-1

Visites guidées
+352 45 37 85-531
visites@mudam.lu

Mudam Boutique
+352 45 37 85-980

Mudam Café
+352 45 37 85-970

PIERRE BASTIEN: SILENT MOTORS

Share
 

Diskretion: Dies ist das erste Wort das einem zu Pierre Bastien einfällt, obwohl der französische Musiker schon seit 40 Jahren auf internationaler Ebene aktiv ist. Von freier Improvisation und der erfinderischen Jazzszene zu elektronischen Kreisen, ist Pierre Bastien ein Musiker und Künstler, dessen einzigartiges kreatives Raster ihm die Freiheit verleiht am Rande verschiedenster Musikrichtungen zu arbeiten.

Die Musik von Pierre Bastien wird rund um traditionelle Instrumente, Motoren, Objekte und Papier artikuliert. Sie befindet sich an der Kreuzung zwischen Kunstmusik und populärer Musik. Kunstmusik, weil die Welt von Pierre Bastien zunächst eine literarische ist, gespeist von Surrealismus und jeglicher Literatur welche, von André Breton über Raymond Roussel, den gezeichneten Gedichten von Francis Picabia und den imaginären Ländern von Henri Michaux, auf seine eigene Weise eine Umkehrung der Realität erreicht. Aber auch populär, da die Melodien die hier entstehenden und die poetischen Räume die so eröffnet werden, einen Teil Kindheit und Wunder zurückbeschwören, von traditioneller afrikanischer Musik bis hin zum primitiven Jazz eines Joe King Oliver, vorbei an musikalischen Gesten von Künstlern wie Moondog, eigentümlich und herausragend.

Die Konzerte und Installationen von Pierre Bastien arbeiten mit traditionellen Instrumenten und zerbrechlichen Miniaturmaschinen, aber auch mit Schatten, Bildern und Überlagerungen und bieten Raum zur visuellen Vergegenwärtigung.

Im Rahmen von Eppur si muove stellt Pierre Bastien sein neues Set „Silent Motors” vor, in dem Instrumente aus Papier (Orgeln, Flöten u.a.) sowie Maschinen und Musiker der Vergangenheit in Form von Videoaufnahmen gemeinsam in einem poetischen, feinsinnigen Universum auftreten.

Eintritt ins Mudam: 7€

© Pierre Bastien