TONY CRAGG, RICHARD DEACON, SU-MEI TSE

The three works gathered in the Sculpture Garden were created by the artists Richard Deacon (*1949), Tony Cragg (*1949) and Su-Mei Tse (*1973). They all belong to the Mudam Collection and enable people to discover various ways to approach working in volume.

The first two artists stay faithful to the visual language of the New English Sculpture from the 1980s and share the same taste concerning the experimentation around the materials. Richard Deacon enjoys manipulating forms. To create Eight, he subjected the wood, in its raw state, to a twisting movement that doesn’t conceal the creative process: nuts and bolts underline the process of formal construction that the English artist undertook. 

Richard Deacon, Eight, 1997
Hêtre courbé à la vapeur, 185 x 390 x 140 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA. Acquisition 1998
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

The perforations in Cragg’s Forminifera resemble the calcified skeletons of micro-organisms. They bear witness to the artist’s curiosity about natural forms (animal, mineral and vegetable), but also his desire to visualise the intensity of matter.

Tony Cragg, Forminifera, 1994
Plâtre et acier, 13 éléments en plâtre, tréteaux et supports en fer
225 × 480 × 400 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport Focuna, Acquisition 1996
© Photo : Aurélien Mole / Mudam Luxembourg
Vue de l’exposition Tony Cragg, Mudam Luxembourg, 11.02.2017 – 03.09.2017

Finally, Many Spoken Words, by Su-Mei Tse, takes up the classic vocabulary of monumental sculpture. Dripping from a bowl, black ink gushes from a garden fountain of baroque inspiration, as we often see on squares or in public gardens. Through this visual as well as sound sculpture, the artist from Luxembourg pays tribute to literature, evoking the potential of words and the eternal renewal of creation.

Su-Mei Tse, in collaboration with Jean-Lou Majerus, Many Spoken Words, 2009
Ink, stone and cast, 220 x ø 450 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2009
© Photo: Andrés Lejona

TONY CRAGG, RICHARD DEACON, SU-MEI TSE

Die drei im Skulpturengarten versammelten Werke stammen von den Künstlern Richard Deacon (*1949), Tony Cragg (*1949), und Su-Mei Tse (*1973). Sie sind Teil der Sammlung des Mudam und lassen auf ihre jeweils eigene Weise Skulptur als räumliche Kunst erfahren.

Die ersten beiden Künstler stehen in der Tradition der sog. Neuen Englischen Skulptur der 1980er Jahre, was sich auch in ihrem großen Interesse am experimentellen Umgang mit dem Material zeigt. Als formbildender Künstler hat Richard Deacon für sein Werk Eightunbehandeltes Holz einem Biegeprozess unterworfen, der dem fertigen Werk deutlich anzusehen ist: die sichtbaren Schrauben und Muttern unterstreichen das spielerische dieser Konstruktion des englischen Künstlers. 

Richard Deacon, Eight, 1997
Hêtre courbé à la vapeur, 185 x 390 x 140 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport FOCUNA. Acquisition 1998
© Photo : Rémi Villaggi

Mit ihren zahlreichen Löchern ähnelt die Skulptur Forminiferavon Tony Cragg dem Kalkskelett mikroskopisch kleiner Lebewesen. Sie zeugt nicht nur von der Neugier dieses ebenfalls aus England stammenden Künstlers für die organischen, mineralischen und pflanzlichen Formen der Natur, sondern auch von seinem Interesse, einzelne Materialien auf intensive Weise anschaulich zu machen.

Tony Cragg, Forminifera, 1994
Plâtre et acier, 13 éléments en plâtre, tréteaux et supports en fer
225 × 480 × 400 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg
Apport Focuna, Acquisition 1996
© Photo : Aurélien Mole / Mudam Luxembourg
Vue de l’exposition Tony Cragg, Mudam Luxembourg, 11.02.2017 – 03.09.2017

Many Spoken Wordsschließlich, von Su-Mei Tse, spielt mit dem klassischen Vokabular der Monumentalplastik. Schwarze Tinte sprudelt, fließt und tropft aus dem pseudobarocken Gartenbrunnen, der denjenigen ähnelt, die man von Plätzen und Parks kennt. Mit den bild- und klanglichen Mitteln der Kunst widmet die Künstlerin der Literatur eine Hommage und spielt auf das Potential der Worte und auf den sich stet erneuernden Fluss des Schöpferischen an.

Su-Mei Tse, in Zusammenarbeit mit Jean-Lou Majerus, Many Spoken Words, 2009
Tinte, Stein und Abguss, 220 x ø 450 cm
Collection Mudam Luxembourg, Acquisition 2009
© Foto: Andrés Lejona